21 U.S.C. Sec. 846 the section of the United States Code (U.S.C. or federal law) that defines a drug conspiracy and the penalties associated with a drug conspiracy. It says: "Any person who attempts or conspires to commit any offense defined in this subchapter shall be subject to the same...Read more »
Unlikely. Possession of Marijuana Paraphernalia in North Carolina is a class 3 misdemeanor which is punishable by court costs and a fine for most people. People who have very significant misdemeanor (5 or more prior convictions) criminal records are eligible for active sentences of up to 20 days...Read more »
You seem to be referencing your "discovery." Discovery is the material provided to you (through your lawyer) by the prosecutor's office in the state or federal system. The Motion for Discovery is the method by which the lawyer requests that discovery be provided. People often...Read more »
Prior to your release from the North Carolina Division of Adult Corrections (formerly the DOC), your parole officer (also called a probation officer) should meet with you to go over any standard terms of post-release supervision, including any special conditions. These generally include the...Read more »
On occasion, when police respond to a call relating to a domestic violence dispute, they will mistakenly arrest the true victim of the crime, believing that that person committed a crime and the aggressor did not. You still need to defend the case by hiring (or asking for a court appointed) lawyer...Read more »
I’m 17 and my boyfriend is 24 and we had a baby together but we left his name off Because we was worried he’d get into trouble and get locked up and I don’t want that because I love him and I might be pregnant again with him and I want to be with him but I don’t know if they will throw him... Read more »
A 17 year old is still a child, so yes, you can date if your parents allow it. 16 is the age of consent in North Carolina so unless you were having sex prior to being 16, he won't get into any criminal trouble or be 'thrown into jail (at least likely not for getting you pregnant) - so he...Read more »
My father in law can't be trusted. Wondering how easy it would be to get him if he fleed the state being on house arrest and facing 4 felonies all drug related. I would be responsible for his bond of 20k if he did.
Your question is somewhat unclear "can out" ??? The rest of it seems to ask if you are going to have to pay his bail bond if he flees, and that you don't trust him. So, the first question is why did you put up a bond for him in the first place if you don't trust him to honor...Read more »
Larceny is a Class 1 Misdemeanor under NCGS 14-72. The maximum punishment for this offense for a person with no prior record is 45 days of Community Punishment. This means that you are probably not facing jail time, and at worst, will receive a fine and unsupervised...Read more »
16 year old bounced check warrant in NC. I live in another state right now. I just found out about the warrant. I hired a lawyer. He now has a court date for me. Being i now have a court date, does that nullify the warrant til court date? Also isnt there a statute of limitations on this. All also... Read more »
If you have already hired an attorney, the logical thing for you to do would be to call the attorney you hired. Asking questions on a public forum like this kinda defeats the purpose of having hired an attorney. As to whether the warrant is still active - sometimes they are stricken prior to the...Read more »
If you don't transfer title within 28 days after sale of vehicle, NC G.S. 20-73 seems to indicate you are guilty of a class 2 misdemeanor. Does that mean if I go to the DMV and transfer the title now (including paying the DMV's late penalty fee) that I will have a class 2 misdemeanor on... Read more »
No, you do not just 'magically' get a class 2 misdemeanor tacked onto your record. You'd have to be formally charged and then convicted and most DA's aren't interested in prosecuting someone who didn't realize they need to do a title transfer. If you go take care of...Read more »
She repeatedly slapped my daughter in the face she had her by the throat. My daughter want to know if they will report her to dad she has to children that I believe may have seen it she is worried about the kids but that she will get in trouble for hitting her back
If daughter was not the aggressor and didnt start the altercation, and if she has injuries, then go to the magistrates office and take out assault charges. Nothing prevents aunt from doing the same thing.
Clearly this is an unhealthy family relationship, and I would sever contact until it...Read more »
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.