Ohio Juvenile Law Questions & Answers

Q: Are there laws against an adult getting into a fight with a minor? Or would it depend on the circumstances.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Ohio on
Answered on Mar 28, 2019
Matthew Williams' answer
The assault laws generally prohibit anyone getting into a fight with anyone unless it’s part of a mutually consented to sporting event like a boxing match.

Q: What is the least to most each could be charged by the legal system?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Ohio on
Answered on Mar 21, 2019
Matthew Williams' answer
If they were charged, which is far from a certainty, they could face felony charges for making and distributing child pornography, which would expose them to discretionary transfer to adult court (unlikely but possible) and years in prison. It’s far more likely they would given a probationary sentence in juvenile court particularly if the case is competently handled by an attorney. If there’s any chance they may be charged, they should have lawyers and should not talk to anyone about this...

Q: I am 17 years old and I will be 18 in 6 months. Is it legal for me to run away and not face any punishments by the law?

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Child Custody, Child Support and Juvenile Law for Ohio on
Answered on Mar 5, 2019
Joseph Jaap's answer
You can be apprehended and placed in juvenile detention if you are under 18. If there are problems, talk to a teacher, school counselor, or other trusted adult.

Q: I'm turning 16 on April 12 and I'm planning on moving at 16. I'm wanting to move out but my mom says no what do i do?

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Child Custody and Juvenile Law for Ohio on
Answered on Mar 4, 2019
Joseph Jaap's answer
Ohio does not have emancipation for your situation. See this link for more information: https://www.ohiobar.org/public-resources/commonly-asked-law-questions-results/circumstances-say-whether-minors-are-emancipated/

Q: My son was pulled over in Athens c going 113 in a 60, zone, they charged him with speeding and juvenile traffic offender

2 Answers | Asked in Juvenile Law and Traffic Tickets for Ohio on
Answered on Feb 25, 2019
Joseph Jaap's answer
At a minimum, the court is likely to suspend his license, fine him, and put him on probation for acting recklessly and irresponsibly -- in hopes of making a significant enough impression that he won't risk his life and teh lives of others when he is eventually allowed to drive again.

Q: how would a 17 year old with a 3 month old baby become emancipated without parental consent?

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Ohio on
Answered on Jan 31, 2019
Joseph Jaap's answer
She can't. Ohio does not allow that. See this link:

https://www.ohiobar.org/public-resources/commonly-asked-law-questions-results/circumstances-say-whether-minors-are-emancipated/

Q: Can my 17 year old friend come live with me if her step mom and dad is mistreating her & cutting people out her life

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law, Family Law, Child Custody and Juvenile Law for Ohio on
Answered on Jan 21, 2019
Joseph Jaap's answer
The friend is a minor and must follow the directions of her parents. If there are problems at home, she should talk to a teacher, school counselor, or other trusted adult.

Q: I was caught doing 74 in a 55 in ohio what will likely happen?

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets and Juvenile Law for Ohio on
Answered on Jan 8, 2019
Joseph Jaap's answer
You will be summoned to go to court, fined, and probably have your license suspended by the judge. You are a new driver with little driving experience. The judge is likely to think that you don't even have enough experience to be driving 55 in a 55, so will think that speeding 20 miles over the limit is irresponsible, and endangers others, and that you do not have enough driving experience to be going so fast, could kill yourself or others, and think that you are not mature enough to handle...

Q: Can a 17 y/o (18 in June) be emancipated due to mother not enrolling in school?

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Ohio on
Answered on Dec 26, 2018
Joseph Jaap's answer
Ohio does not permit emancipation except in certain circumstances. See this link:

https://www.ohiobar.org/public-resources/commonly-asked-law-questions-results/circumstances-say-whether-minors-are-emancipated/

Q: I am a 18 years old. My boyfriend is 15. Since I turned 18 we have had problems with family matters if it is legal.

2 Answers | Asked in Juvenile Law for Ohio on
Answered on Dec 17, 2018
Joseph Jaap's answer
You are 18. An adult. He is a minor, below the age of consent of 16. Depending on what you both do, you could be charged with a criminal act and if convicted, possibly go to jail and be required to register as a sex offender for life.

Q: My 17 year old boyfriend physically assaulted an 18 year old for harassing me. Will he have to serve time in jail?

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Ohio on
Answered on Nov 12, 2018
Joseph Jaap's answer
He should retain an attorney to advise him.

Q: I’m 17 and I’ve been on juvenile probation and I violated if I hide till I’m older and get away can they do anything

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, Juvenile Law and Probate for Ohio on
Answered on Nov 2, 2018
Matthew Williams' answer
Yes, they can. The juvenile court will not lose jurisdiction over your case when you turn 18.

Q: What to do when a parent kicks a 17 year old out of home with no place to go

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Ohio on
Answered on Oct 15, 2018
Joseph Jaap's answer
Contact local children's services.

Q: I am 15 and having a baby. Can I get emancipated if I have a stable home for me and my child?

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Ohio on
Answered on Oct 8, 2018
Joseph Jaap's answer
No, Ohio does not allow emancipation in that circumstance. See this link.

https://www.ohiobar.org/public-resources/commonly-asked-law-questions-results/circumstances-say-whether-minors-are-emancipated/

If there are problems at home, talk to a teacher or other trusted adult.

Q: Im 17 and got into a minor collision, got cited for a stop sign violation and have a provisional license. What'll happen

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets, Car Accidents and Juvenile Law for Ohio on
Answered on Sep 5, 2018
Joseph Jaap's answer
Your license could be suspended and/or you could be fined.

Q: If you have an 18 yr old child who is still enrolled in school but are being dissruptive to the household, can the

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Ohio on
Answered on Aug 29, 2018
Joseph Jaap's answer
If there is no court-ordered parenting agreement from a divorce or custody proceeding, and the child is not special needs, then parental obligations typically cease at age 18. The child could be considered a month-to-month tenant, requiring a proper eviction action. A month to month tenancy can be terminated at the end of any month by giving a written 30 day notice. The form is on the local court web site. If the person does not leave, then a 3 day notice is given, and an eviction action...

Q: I’m 16 years old and I got caught going 50 on a 35 in Cleveland Ohio. I have court soon, will I get my license suspende?

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets and Juvenile Law for Ohio on
Answered on Aug 24, 2018
Joseph Jaap's answer
Probably. The court could determine that you were acting very irresponsibly, and at such a young age, you need more maturity before being allowed to drive again, where you could kill yourself or others. Driving is a privilege, not a right. The court can take it away.

Q: Can juvenile GSI charge be expunged?

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Ohio on
Answered on Aug 16, 2018
Matthew Williams' answer
In Ohio, yes, a juvenile GSI charge can be sealed and later expunged. But that's only Ohio law, the state in which you've asked. The site seems to think your location is MI.

Q: How long can juvenile court in ohio hold a child without having a ajudication hearing.

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Ohio on
Answered on Aug 13, 2018
Matthew Williams' answer
It really depends on the circumstances, the charges, whether the juvenile is competent, his or her age, etc. A hearing on whether or not to hold the juvenile is required to happen fast, but the adjudicatory hearing may be a long way off.

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.