Lawyers, Answer Questions  & Get Points Log In
South Carolina Traffic Tickets Questions & Answers
1 Answer | Asked in Mergers & Acquisitions and Traffic Tickets for South Carolina on
Q: If the officer doesn't work for that jurisdiction anymore that wrote the ticket what happens
Ryan D Templeton
Ryan D Templeton answered on Jan 13, 2020

The officer can return to prosecute the tickets but many times the tickets get dismissed.

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law and Traffic Tickets for South Carolina on
Q: So you already said I don’t have to show up in court. Is it worth it to fight to have 2 pts dropped?

How does 2 pts affect insurance in SC? Is it worth it to try and fight the points or just be happy the trooper decreased the points from 4 to 2 and since I’ve paid just go on my way? It is my first ticket ever

Ryan D Templeton
Ryan D Templeton answered on Dec 7, 2019

The minimum points on any speeding ticket is two points. The judge does not have the authority to drop them any lower. Your insurance can take the conviction into account but that really depends on your carrier.

View More Answers

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law and Traffic Tickets for South Carolina on
Q: I got my first traffic violation in SC for 10 miles over the speed limit and 2 pts on my license. The trooper decrease

The trooper decreased the ticket from 4pts to 2 and 20miles down to 10miles. I just paid the fee of $75 online. My question is the ticket online says no court appearance required but the back part of the ticket talks about "If you fail to post bond or personally appear in court on the assigned... Read more »

Allison Brandt Blackwelder
Allison Brandt Blackwelder answered on Dec 6, 2019

The fine you paid is the bond amount, so you do not need to appear in court. You have already taken care of the matter responsibly. Best of luck!

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for South Carolina on
Q: I missed my court date one day and it was Thanksgiving the next i couldn't get in touch with court what do i do?

After charged dus 2nd non dui. I fixed it with dmv but missed court date i don't have a dus 1st can i still be charged 2nd? Offense

Ryan D Templeton
Ryan D Templeton answered on Dec 1, 2019

You will need to contact the court first thing Monday morning and ask to reopen your case if you were tried in your absence.

There is a chance if this was your first court date and you did not have an attorney your case was continued.

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for South Carolina on
Q: I got pulled over and couldn’t find my insurance but it was in my car the whole time I missed my court date and ran late

is there a way I can go about not paying the ticket if I already have insurance

Ryan D Templeton
Ryan D Templeton answered on Nov 24, 2019

If you were found guilty in your absence you can ask that your case be reopened by going to the court with a letter requesting that the case be reopened. It is within the courts discretion to reopen the case.

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for South Carolina on
Q: was never showed any thing to sighn or asked but did read my rights
Tim Akpinar
Tim Akpinar answered on Nov 4, 2019

A South Carolina attorney could answer you best, but your post remains open for two weeks. You post this in Traffic Tickets but mention something that looks like it might involve being read your rights (from the wording above - I hope it is not). Are you sure this is traffic violation? Maybe you... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for South Carolina on
Q: I got a ticket for driving without a license in Chesterfield cty South Carolina in 2011. Shouldnt it be dismissed 2019?
Sheila Mims
Sheila Mims answered on Nov 1, 2019

It should have been resolved by plea, trial, or dismissal long ago. You might consider checking the public index to see what happened to the charge.

1 Answer | Asked in Communications Law, Internet Law and Traffic Tickets for South Carolina on
Q: Can you get a ticket for not stopping at a stop sign in a private community in South Carolina
Ryan D Templeton
Ryan D Templeton answered on Oct 24, 2019

The short answer is yes. If the sign complies with the required statutes it is unlawful to not stop.

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for South Carolina on
Q: I just got a ticket for endangering emergency services personnel (move over law) I didn't merge or slow down

What can I do? What does this misdemeanor mean will happen to me? Go to court date?

Ryan D Templeton
Ryan D Templeton answered on Oct 15, 2019

If you are convicted you will be assessed a fine and points on your record. You may want to consider a diversionary program such as the traffic education program which is offered by most solicitor offices.

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for South Carolina on
Q: I got a ticket for 63 in a 45 but the cop reduced it to a 10 or less... I really cant afford no more points on me

Is there any way to keep them from going on my record ? Like a class or somthing ?

Ryan D Templeton
Ryan D Templeton answered on Oct 7, 2019

One option is called the Traffic Education Program (TEP) which is offered by most Solicitor’s offices in the state. I would recommending calling the solicitor in the area that the ticket occurred and they can explain to you the program requirements.

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for South Carolina on
Q: If a driver gets into a marked road median prior to a marked turn lane , is this a ticket able offense in South Carolina
Ryan D Templeton
Ryan D Templeton answered on Sep 22, 2019

More likely than not if you are getting into a median you cross a double yellow lane when you enter the turn lane and therefore it would be a traffic violation. I hope this answers your question.

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for South Carolina on
Q: Is it illegal to park facing traffic in sc
Ryan D Templeton
Ryan D Templeton answered on Aug 6, 2019

Yes, SC Code Section SECTION 56-5-2560 provides:

Parking at right-hand curb not more than 18 inches from curb.

Except as otherwise provided in Sections 56-5-2540 and 56-5-2550, every vehicle stopped or parked upon a roadway where there are adjacent curbs shall be so stopped or...
Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for South Carolina on
Q: So if I have had no driving violations in almost 7 years, but am permanently revoked, can my charges be changed at court

I was not charged with anything other than a first DUS, non DUI related, but am apprehensive that a magistrate could pull my record and bump it up to General Sessions and a lot more problems can occur... I'm just having a hard time understanding the law on this....So it would be helpful to know if... Read more »

Ryan D Templeton
Ryan D Templeton answered on Aug 6, 2019

SC State law SECTION 56-1-460 provides:

Penalties for driving while license cancelled, suspended or revoked; route restricted license.

(A)(1) Except as provided in item (2), a person who drives a motor vehicle on a public highway of this State when the person's license to drive is...
Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for South Carolina on
Q: Is a verbal warning required or just an option, before giving a citation for parking in a fire lane?
Ryan D Templeton
Ryan D Templeton answered on Aug 6, 2019

It is within the officers discretion to give a warning or write a ticket.

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for South Carolina on
Q: May the fine listed in SC ST law 56-5-1520 (G) be exceeded when issued a traffic ticket?

The amount listed is actually in a box titled “Bond amount requested”

This may be the reason the amount is higher than the law allows?

Ryan D Templeton
Ryan D Templeton answered on Aug 6, 2019

Likely the officer listed the maximum fine amount including court costs and fees which are assessed on top of the fine amount listed under 56-5-1520.

The fine amount can not exceed the statutory penalty but court costs and assessments can increase that amount.

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for South Carolina on
Q: Does a 3rd offense driving under suspension, non-dui related, carry an automatic jail time?
William James LaLima
William James LaLima answered on Apr 17, 2019

Yes. 90 days in jail (or house arrest) It is mandatory. I *have* persuaded the arresting officer to rewrite a DUS 3rd ticket to a DUS 2nd offense ... It saves the 90 days in jail, BUT the DOT will still punish you as if it is a DUS 3rd.

56-1-460(A)(2) ...

(c) for a third or...
Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for South Carolina on
Q: I was stopped the other day by two local officers while leaving the pharmacy. Officer stated I was speeding and ran.

When I approached my vehicle after leaving the pharmacy, 2 officers pulled up to my car with sirens on. The officer got out and approached me saying that i had been speeding and ran from him. He issued me 4 tickets totaling $1575 and towed my vehicle. I printed off my time sheet that shows I clock... Read more »

John W. Molony
John W. Molony answered on Mar 11, 2019

Contact a South Carolina criminal defense lawyer as soon as you possibly can, so that they can thoroughly review this matter for you.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Traffic Tickets for South Carolina on
Q: Can you be charged with habitual traffic offender if your not operating a motor vehicle

I was working on a vehicle replacing the brakes and upon completion an officer pulls into my driveway and tells me the tag of the car I was working on was suspended and asked for my licence. In working on the car I only crank the car and put it into gear to see if the brakes would hold once I was... Read more »

Stephen Grooms
Stephen Grooms answered on Jul 26, 2018

The question is whether or not your conduct was "operating a motor vehicle" under 56-1-1020, 1100. While private property vs public roads is addressed in Habitual Offender related injury charges (56-1-1105) it isn't so clear under the general statute. However it does set a nice precedent for an... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Personal Injury and Traffic Tickets for South Carolina on
Q: My daughter was stopped for busted headlight on passenger side but it still works and it was 5pm daylight hours

Gave her a ticket for 234.00,nothing is hinging its just cracked out. Why he stopped her she didn't need the light cause it was daytime and it does work at night when needed.

Carole Jean Hayes
Carole Jean Hayes answered on Jan 28, 2018

Wow. It is faulty equipment; however, that's really odd that one would get pulled over for that alone. I have little doubt that if you go to the hearing, it will get significantly decreased or dropped based upon the fact it was day light.

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.