Criminal Law Questions & Answers

Q: Non physical control dui arrest in minnesota,LEGAL ?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Minnesota on Aug 12, 2014

Answered on Sep 2, 2014

Follow Question


Kristen Bullock's answer
I would be interested in reading the police report and discussing your case. You may have a potential argument for dismissing the case. I would not hesitate in contacting an attorney to preserve your rights. Please feel free to contact me at 651.270.6484.

Answer this Question View More »

Q: I have been charged with a Identity theft crime which i am not the person on the video surveillance. whats my next step

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Minnesota on Aug 27, 2014

Answered on Sep 2, 2014

Follow Question


Kristen Bullock's answer
This is a complex question and would depend on the facts of this case. If you are not already represented, please feel free to contact me to set up a free consultation 651.270.6484.

Answer this Question View More »

Q: If you have had the last dwi 14 years ago and it was your 4th one and you get one just recently will it be enhanced ?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Texas on Aug 27, 2014

Answered on Sep 2, 2014

Follow Question


Christopher M. Lankford's answer
Yes, the new one will be a 3rd degree felony. The "ten year rule" for looking back at DWIs for enhancement has been repealed.

Answer this Question View More »

Q: is criminal trespassing a class a or c misdemeanor

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Tennessee on Aug 27, 2014

Answered on Aug 28, 2014

Follow Question


Mr. Stephen A. Sauer's answer
Criminal trespassing is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by up to 30 days in jail and up to $50 fine. Aggravated criminal trespassing, which can be a Class A or B misdemeanor depending on the facts. A Class A misdemeanor is punishable for up to 11 months 29 days in jail and up to $2500 fine; a Class B misdemeanor is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and up to $500 fine.

Answer this Question View More »

Q: I have read that lawyers don't take contingency fee criminal cases why is this ?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Washington on Jan 24, 2014

Answered on Aug 26, 2014

Follow Question


David Nelson Jolly's answer
The very simple answer to your question - why we don't take contingency fees in criminal cases - is very simple. Doing so may be considered unethical and it is not advised by the Washington State Bar Association. To avoid sanctions, we criminal defense attorneys avoid doing anything that may be perceived by the Bar Association as unethical.

Law Firm of David N. Jolly

http://www.bellingham-lawyer.com/

Answer this Question View More »

Q: "friend" took several tools/equipment with a discounted price of $1250 has not made any payments. In WA, what can I do?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Washington on Feb 1, 2014

Answered on Aug 26, 2014

Follow Question


David Nelson Jolly's answer
This set of facts is probably a civil matter and the perfect venue for this case is small claims court. Hopefully there is a written agreement and proof that the tools were taken but no money exchanged. It’s best to see your local municipal or district court in Washington for a small claims package.

If you’re concerned that this may be a criminal matter (“theft”) then it is best you contact your local police department and file a report stating that this tools were taken...

Answer this Question View More »

Q: Is T.C.A. 39-13-111 a felony or misdemeanor charge?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Tennessee on Aug 25, 2014

Answered on Aug 26, 2014

Follow Question


David Nelson Jolly's answer
This statute could be either a misdemeanor felony. The statute cited simply defines domestic violence assault but gives it no classification - that would be a different but related statute.

Law Firm of David N. Jolly

http://www.skagitduilawyers.com/

Answer this Question View More »

Q: If I filed for a motion to dismiss on my right to speedy trial being violated during my case and no motion was mad..agai

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Washington on Mar 30, 2014

Answered on Aug 26, 2014

Follow Question


David Nelson Jolly's answer
Your right to a speedy trial is a constitutional right protected by the laws of this great nation. However, and frustratingly, it’s not quite as easy as that. In order to successfully have a motion to dismiss based on a violation of your speedy trial rights you must first object to the setting of a case outside of your time for trial and then bring a motion to dismiss. If you (or your attorney) fail to object to the setting of the case – when it occurs – you may be out of luck. To...

Answer this Question View More »

Q: Being charged with uttering threats to a police officer resisting arrest and mischief. Am I looking at jail time?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Washington on May 28, 2014

Answered on Aug 26, 2014

Follow Question


David Nelson Jolly's answer
Every criminal charge in the State of Washington has the possibility of jail time. Typically the maximum penalties are either 90 days (for a misdemeanor) or 364 days of jail (for a gross misdemeanor). However, not all crimes have mandatory jail so it is conceivable that you may not receive any jail depending on the exact type of threat allegedly made and your criminal history. With a case such as yours it is best to contact a local criminal attorney to discuss. Good luck.

Law Firm...

Answer this Question View More »

Q: i missed court to day what can i do

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Washington on Jun 19, 2014

Answered on Aug 26, 2014

Follow Question


David Nelson Jolly's answer
If you have very little (if any) criminal history and have no record of not appearing in court, you might be in luck. Contact the court immediately and explain that you missed your court date. They may be able to advise you how to remedy this situation by paying a small fee ($25 or $50) and resetting your court date. If your case or court won’t permit this you’ll need to quash the warrant by hiring an attorney who can get you in front of a Judge for the purposes of quashing the warrant....

Answer this Question View More »

Q: I was sentenced to EHM but I now have no place to do it. What do I do to take the jail time that was offered in court.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Washington on Jul 11, 2014

Answered on Aug 26, 2014

Follow Question


David Nelson Jolly's answer
If you are unable to perform electronic home monitoring the Jail and Court will understand … however, you must be careful that the conversion for EHM isn’t treated equally with jail. In other words, if you were sentenced to 30 days of EHM this should equal 2 days of jail based on the tried and true 1 day of jail equals 15 days of EHM. I would visit the Jail and see if they would convert for you but also check with the Court. If in doubt, you can bring a motion in the court where you were...

Answer this Question View More »

Q: How long does a judge have jurisdiction on a misdemeanor charge after you plead guilty

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Washington on Jul 24, 2014

Answered on Aug 26, 2014

Follow Question


David Nelson Jolly's answer
Most misdemeanor offenses in Washington have 2 years of probation while Washington DUI convictions (or deferred prosecution) have 5 years of probation. However, there are many examples of the probationary period being less than the mentioned 2 or 5 years. As long as the probation period is the length of time the Court has jurisdiction over the individual.

Law Firm of David N. Jolly

http://www.dui-bellingham.com

Answer this Question View More »

Q: Ifyour probation says you can't drink or do drugs, but your probation is over, can you continue to do so?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Washington on Aug 12, 2014

Answered on Aug 26, 2014

Follow Question


David Nelson Jolly's answer
Probation has incredible powers so while you are probation, of any kind, do what they say and stay out of criminal trouble. It is also important to understand if you are actually on probation or not. Many confuse “inactive” (or unsupervised) probation as not probation, but it is. Most misdemeanor offenses in Washington have 2 years of probation while Washington DUI convictions (or deferred prosecution) have 5 years of probation.

In this case if there is one more court date it is...

Answer this Question View More »

Q: i am being harassed by a police officer and now being threatened with jail. how do i fight this

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Washington on Aug 13, 2014

Answered on Aug 26, 2014

Follow Question


David Nelson Jolly's answer
I am sorry that this is happening to you. I have two strong responses to your issue. The first is, do not say anything to the officer and do not respond in any way. The second, contact a local criminal defense attorney to discuss the matter. Lawyers can certainly help you in court but they can also put an end to unnecessary “investigation” and most importantly, protect you and your rights. It is simple advice but critical. Call a local attorney for a free consultation and possible...

Answer this Question View More »

Q: How many years these offense carry

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Illinois on Jul 21, 2014

Answered on Aug 22, 2014

Follow Question


Carlos Humberto Davalos' answer
It's a felony so it can be punished by more than one year in the Illinois Department of Corrections.

Answer this Question View More »

Q: i have a class three felony for cannabis pending 32 grams n and six years ago i was charged with controlled substance i

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Illinois on Jul 17, 2014

Answered on Aug 22, 2014

Follow Question


Carlos Humberto Davalos' answer
There may be ways to keep this charge of your record in addition to avoiding jail time. Much more is needed to determine that however, for example, your background and the facts of the case. Contact an attorney.

Answer this Question View More »

Q: i shoplifted when I was 17 in texas and I am 55. is that still on my record

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Texas on Aug 20, 2014

Answered on Aug 21, 2014

Follow Question


Christopher M. Lankford's answer
If you were convicted, then yes, it will still be on your record. However, if you completed a deferred probation or had your case dismissed, then you can have it sealed.

Answer this Question View More »

Q: How do I get a copy of a plea agreement filed in 1989 in Abq. NM.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Texas on Aug 19, 2014

Answered on Aug 20, 2014

Follow Question


Christopher M. Lankford's answer
You may have to contact the county/district clerk to get a copy.

Answer this Question View More »

Q: In the state of Texas can a person be held in jail because of there back ground if they didn't do the crime?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Texas on Aug 12, 2014

Answered on Aug 18, 2014

Follow Question


Christopher M. Lankford's answer
If a person's background may be taken into account when setting the bond. However, there must be a current charge for a new crime. If the is no evidence to support the new charge, then this person should have an attorney fighting it via, grand jury, examining trial, etc. If the new charge is dismissed, then he won't be held.

Answer this Question View More »

Q: Can you be found guilty on assault by contact if only witnesses show in court?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Texas on Aug 14, 2014

Answered on Aug 18, 2014

Follow Question


Christopher M. Lankford's answer
Yes. You may be charged, but whether that is enough to convince a jury that you are guilty is an entirely different question. Your lawyer is the best person to advise you on the strength of the case.

Answer this Question View More »