Lawyers, Answer Questions  & Get Points Log In
Florida Juvenile Law Questions & Answers
1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Florida on
Q: Can I be charged of rape if I come with my girlfriend to the U.S. on vacation? I’m 18 and she’s 15, we live in Brazil.

The legal consent age is different over these, so I’m wondering if I could be in trouble while being in u.s. territory.

Terrence H Thorgaard
Terrence H Thorgaard answered on Nov 21, 2020

Certainly, if you have sex with her when you're here; you can be charged under the laws of whichever U.S. state you are in.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Child Custody and Juvenile Law for Florida on
Q: Is there any penalty for leaving 14 year old home alone with 4 children(7&under) every weekend for hours (12 hours)

I’m afraid for the safety of all children in the home while parents are away every weekend and coming home drunk. One of the children being looked after is handicapped. On occasion they can leave all of them home alone without adult supervision for up to 12 hours.

Bruce Alexander Minnick
Bruce Alexander Minnick answered on Oct 12, 2020

Report this behavior to Child Protective Services at the Department of Children & Family Services in Tallahassee. Google it.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Florida on
Q: What is the romeo and juliet law in florida? & what is the age requirements for dating?
Terrence H Thorgaard
Terrence H Thorgaard answered on Sep 13, 2020

By "dating", do you mean sex? As indicated in Wikipedia [https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ages_of_consent_in_the_United_States#Florida],

"The age of consent in Florida is 18, but close-in-age exemptions exist. By law, the exception permits a person 23 years of age or...
Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Florida on
Q: Can I move without major issues?

I am 16, financially stable with the current job I am working and can support myself. I want to move out not due to abuse or anything just to be able to have responsibilities, my mother says she wouldn’t be mad about it but she will have to file a missing report with the police so she wouldn’t... Read more »

Bruce Alexander Minnick
Bruce Alexander Minnick answered on Sep 5, 2020

Whoa. Both you and your mother are asking for big time trouble if you go down that path. Your mother would be committing a criminal act (intentionally filing a false report) and you would probably end up in a juvenile protection facility (nice sounding name for jail).

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, Family Law, Child Custody and Juvenile Law for Florida on
Q: What's the difference between a lock out and a runaway?

My son is 16 years old and lived with me for 4 years before moving back to his mother's in June 2019. His mother cut communication off between us in April.He was arrested in August and is due to be released from JDC next week. He has stated that he was homeless for two months after leaving his... Read more »

Bruce Alexander Minnick
Bruce Alexander Minnick answered on Sep 4, 2020

Your son is a juvenile and cannot be allowed to roam the streets of Florida alone. If neither parent will step up and take full responsibility for your son, then he becomes what they call "a lockout." Once that happens the State of Florida, Department of Children & Families will take... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Florida on
Q: I’m about to be 18 on August 18th and I want to move out with my fiancé . Dad doesn’t want to let me. Can I do this
Terrence H Thorgaard
Terrence H Thorgaard answered on Aug 15, 2020

Yes, 18 is the age of majority. You will be an adult then.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Florida on
Q: My 17 year old daughter has moved out and I want to give legal consent to the grandfather for where she is staying.

She is on probation and has been leaving the home to go to the home of where this grandfather is the adult. Her probation officer said it was fine for her to move in there. We have already called a family lawyer to find out we can’t file for emancipation, because she is three months from her 18th... Read more »

Terrence H Thorgaard
Terrence H Thorgaard answered on Jul 3, 2020

You might want to get the probation officer to sign something.

1 Answer | Asked in Civil Litigation, Civil Rights and Juvenile Law for Florida on
Q: Can i leave my home when i turn 18 even if im still in school?

Im 17 and i will still be in school with a few months left when i turn 18 before i graduate. However i don't wish to continue living under the oppression environment in my home and running away didn't work even though i was 17 with 6 months left before being the age of majority and i was... Read more »

Bruce Alexander Minnick
Bruce Alexander Minnick answered on Jun 16, 2020

Although I strongly advise you not to do it, Florida law will not prevent you from leaving home AFTER you turn 18 years old. Warning: that does not mean 17 years, 11 months; it means 18. (Being in school has nothing to do with it.)

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Florida on
Q: The minor talked to the police, children and family is calling to investigate the issue, we have pics of injured man

15 yr Minor attacked 33 yr man, mother of the minor gave false statement, forced kids to lie, what can we do?

Henry George Ferro
Henry George Ferro answered on Jun 4, 2020

Hire a lawyer as soon as possible...

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law and Criminal Law for Florida on
Q: A 15 yr got into a fight with a 33yr, the man defend himself and now boy accused him of battery

The 15 yr old attacked the man, the man has pictures of all the scars, bruises and scratches Can the man file battery/assault against the minor ?

Charles M.  Baron
Charles M. Baron answered on Jun 3, 2020

Your inquiry is a bit vague. When you say the minor has accused the adult of battery, do you mean the adult is now under criminal investigation or has been charged? Or you mean the minor just made an accusation to that adult or to someone who is not the police? Your inquiry is also vague as to... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Employment Law, Intellectual Property and Juvenile Law for Florida on
Q: My son worked for Taco Bell back in February or March of this year. He was hired, submitted all his sensitive

SS Number, dob, birth certificate etc. And i have been trying to get my sons check after working there 3 days, and me making him resign after the THIRD school night and his manager making him stay to almost midnight, on a school night! I have been trying to go through the store but nobody could... Read more »

Bruce Alexander Minnick
Bruce Alexander Minnick answered on Jun 1, 2020

If--as you say--your son has already given all his personal information to the owner of the Taco Bell franchise then there should be no reason for concern about re-submitting the same information in order to get the money owed.

But to answer your questions: No, the owner of the Taco Bell...
Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Civil Rights and Juvenile Law for Florida on
Q: Can I parent hide a 17 year old ID, Birth certificate, Social security card even if the kid wants to work or move out?

My daughter’s boyfriend has 17 years old,his mother forces him to work for her but he does not get any paycheck and can't get another job or move out because his mom doesn’t want to give him his ID or social security card.

Terrence H Thorgaard
Terrence H Thorgaard answered on May 9, 2020

Yes, until he turns 18 or is emancipated, his mother can refuse to let him get a job or move away.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Florida on
Q: Can my girlfriends parents kick me out?

I have a girlfriend that’s 17. She’ll be 18 in 3 months. I’m 20. We’ve been dating about 5 months. I’ve lived with her at her moms house for about a month now. I gave her stepdad the money ($700) to move in and paid for their lights to be turned on ($280). Do they have to get an eviction... Read more »

Terrence H Thorgaard
Terrence H Thorgaard answered on May 8, 2020

If you paid them money to live there, yes, they have to present you with an eviction notice before they can bring suit against you for eviction.

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Florida on
Q: let's say hypothetically a 16 year old boy injures a girl around the same age;

for example a stab wound with a fork or something along those lines that will definitely cause a scar. would the boy go to prison? and would another teenager around the same age be able to bail him out of jail if they have the money to?

Henry George Ferro
Henry George Ferro answered on May 7, 2020

Hypothetically speaking, some hypothetical parent should take this hypothetical "boy" behind a hypothetical barn and beat his hypothetical backside to a pulp...That is the father of a young woman speaking...

As a lawyer, I will tell you that your hypothetical "boy" could...
Read more »

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Child Custody, Child Support and Juvenile Law for Florida on
Q: What would happen if I call the cops on my brother?

My brother is 16 he’ll be 17 in June but my stepdad recently went to jail for sexual assault on minors and my mother has custody of my brothers now and lives in her own place. They are still married so DCF agreed to them living with her and she’s planning on canceling all the bills for the... Read more »

Bruce Alexander Minnick
Bruce Alexander Minnick answered on May 4, 2020

DCF has jurisdiction here; the cops can do nothing except take your brother (and you?) to DCF.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Appeals / Appellate Law and Juvenile Law for Florida on
Q: If dcf has started and investigation and files a petition..

If dcf files a petition for an emergency removal and the statments they have obtained and are using as evidence in the petition can be proven untrue example, "if they say they have spoken to someone but they actually have never spoken to them" what can the parents do about the situation... Read more »

Bruce Alexander Minnick
Bruce Alexander Minnick answered on Apr 26, 2020

The family will have to hire a lawyer to represent the PARENTS of the child now in DCF’s care.

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Florida on
Q: Im 17 can i runaway from home to my boyfriends house and not get his family in trouble. They told me i could move in.
Jeffrey Snyder
Jeffrey Snyder answered on Apr 22, 2020

No. You are under your parents rules until 18.

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Florida on
Q: I have a 17 year old “runaway” that is living with me and my family. His father, and possibly mother, wants him home.

This 17 year old former soccer player that I’ve coached left his parent’s home and asked if I could help... he is currently staying with me and my wife (& 3 children). He is less than two months away from turning 18. His father is an alcoholic, and has been abusive- physically, verbally,... Read more »

Terrence H Thorgaard
Terrence H Thorgaard answered on Apr 14, 2020

You indicate that "both parents initially agreed to allow the individual to stay with me; however, after a week, the father is now threatening hospitalization for psychiatric evaluation. " I don't understand what you mean by "now threatening hospitalization for psychiatric... Read more »

2 Answers | Asked in Federal Crimes and Juvenile Law for Florida on
Q: So my daughter has been arrested for attempted murder ( charged as a juvenile) how long can they hold her?

So my daughter was with 2 of her friends in the car ( she wasn't driving the car) , her friend was . One of the friends had a gun in the backseat and shot it at the person car. My daughter was laughing during the incident and recording it , and they charged her also but why was she charged... Read more »

Terrence H Thorgaard
Terrence H Thorgaard answered on Apr 10, 2020

Obviously they are charging her because they are not sure who may be guilty of what. She should ask these questions of her attorney, and in the mean time say nothing to anybody else.

View More Answers

2 Answers | Asked in Family Law, Child Custody, Civil Rights and Juvenile Law for Florida on
Q: I have a no contact order against the person that has my children,she signed a affidavit saying I'm in contact with her

So now I cannot get in contact with my children.is there any way I could loose my children? I am terrified that will happen,what are the steps I should take to get my children?

Terrence H Thorgaard
Terrence H Thorgaard answered on Apr 5, 2020

Have you contacted the notary before whom the affidavit was executed?

View More Answers

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.