Lawyers, Answer Questions  & Get Points Log In
South Carolina Employment Law Questions & Answers
1 Answer | Asked in Contracts and Employment Law for South Carolina on
Q: What is statue of limitations on breach of an employment contract by the employer?
Jeremy R. Summerlin
Jeremy R. Summerlin answered on Mar 27, 2020

The statute of limitations for breach of contract claims, including employment contracts, is three years in SC.

1 Answer | Asked in Employment Discrimination and Employment Law for South Carolina on
Q: Have been asked to resign or be terminated. Was told it is performance but over exceeded 2019 goals.

I never received notices of low performance. In 2019 I exceeded my sales goals. This year the company lost a customer in my territory, but it was not my fault, as they decided to start buying directly from China. I am 49 years old, and there are other younger sales people who did not reach sales... Read more »

Rhiannon Herbert
Rhiannon Herbert answered on Mar 11, 2020

You may have a claim for age discrimination and/or disability discrimination if your pacemaker has a lasting impact on your ability to perform major life activities. However, you'll likely need more evidence than what you've stated above to support your claims. How old are your supervisors? How old... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Employment Law for South Carolina on
Q: Is there an FLSA law in South Carolina that limits the maximum number of hours that a salaried employee can be required?

For example, we are on a huge project. Is there a point that an employer has to let an employee go home to sleep some? We have been told in the past that we cannot leave until something is complete.

Carrie Dyer
Carrie Dyer answered on Mar 4, 2020

If you are properly classified as a salaried employee, exempt from the provision of the overtime requirements of the FLSA, then there is no limit on the number of hours your employer can ask you to work in a workweek with your current salary pay.

1 Answer | Asked in Employment Law for South Carolina on
Q: Question regarding compensation for tipped employees

Basically, I work at a restaurant and last Thursday, the power went out. We had to close the restaurant, and it was probably around 6:30 - 7:00 PM. I'm fairly sure that employees should be sent home if they cannot work but we had to stay until 9:00 PM and then we were finally sent home. The... Read more »

Rhiannon Herbert
Rhiannon Herbert answered on Feb 5, 2020

Under the Fair Labor Standards Act, employers must ensure that tipped employees' hourly wage, combined with tips earned, equals at least the federal minimum wage of $7.25. If you didn't receive any tips during the hours the power was out but you were still required to be at work, your employer must... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Employment Law for South Carolina on
Q: Can work place not pay you once you have worked there a couple days?

I was working for a company and I work a couple of days and do to my medical problem I was not able to continue the job so when it was time for me to get paid for the days I did work the have not paid me and I sent a 24 hour notice to my Boss and his Boss letting them know if I don't receive my... Read more »

Jeremy R. Summerlin
Jeremy R. Summerlin answered on Jan 16, 2020

You have the option of filing a complaint with the SC Dept. of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (LLR). They can investigate your claim and potentially fine the employer. But they cannot recover your money. If the amount you're owed is less than $7,500, then you can file a small claims court lawsuit... Read more »

2 Answers | Asked in Employment Law for South Carolina on
Q: What can I do about not getting my pay check for work that I have completed?

I have worked but don't get paid

Carrie Dyer
Carrie Dyer answered on Jan 14, 2020

You should immediately consult an employment law attorney in South Carolina to discuss your situation. You may have a claim for unpaid wages under the federal law (Fair Labor Standards Act) and state law.

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Employment Law for South Carolina on
Q: Does S.C. count adjudicated withheld as a non convicted?

I have charges in FL that were adjudicated withheld. I was 18 and received robbery and assault and battery charges. ( I was in the car when it happened, didn’t do it) I’m now 22 and trying to get my massage therapy license and I’m worried adjudicated withheld doesn’t mean anything to the... Read more »

Ryan D Templeton
Ryan D Templeton answered on Dec 3, 2019

You need to contact an attorney in the state of FL and they will be able to answer your question about marking a conviction. That states law would control in this situation.

1 Answer | Asked in Employment Law and Workers' Compensation for South Carolina on
Q: I recently filed a injury claim to my hr. They sent me to an urgent in their network the doctor diagnosed me with

Active asthma and said the environmental exposures at work are the cause and excused me from 2days of work. I notified my supervisor that I’m out on worker comp. While on workers comp. I filed a osha complaint concerning the quality of air and toxic chemicals that are the cause of the asthma they... Read more »

Carole Jean Hayes
Carole Jean Hayes answered on Aug 12, 2019

If your exposure to the workplace has resulted in your developing or aggravating your asthma, you should have a viable workers' comp case. You can go to another doctor. My first piece of advise is to get a company to test the air quality at your place of employment before they "fix it." You need... Read more »

Q: Was injured at Walmart while working for them just recently. 4 days ago let H R know about losing feeling in both hands

Yesterday 3 hours before my shift ended I was called into office and was told that due to a b s excuse they like to use I have to be terminated Now I don't know if I can get help with my situation and they are liable. I had been with them full time for over 2 years I have No insurance Please help

Tim Akpinar
Tim Akpinar answered on Jan 15, 2019

Try additionally reposting your question in the Workers' Compensation section. Hopefully one of the experienced attorneys in that category could pick up the question.

Tim Akpinar

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Employment Law for South Carolina on
Q: If my job gave me holiday pay and I seen it before time went in can they turn around and take it back from you

We had 8 hrs for holiday pay and all the employees seen it now time went in they took the holiday pay back can they do that

Jeremy R. Summerlin
Jeremy R. Summerlin answered on Dec 18, 2018

If the holiday was given by mistake, then the company can take it back. If the pay was lawfully earned by the employees or owed pursuant to a policy or contract, then the company should not be able to take it back.

1 Answer | Asked in Employment Law for South Carolina on
Q: Remote employee confused on which state to seek legal help in regards to an already signed, non-compete agreement.

None

Jeremy R. Summerlin
Jeremy R. Summerlin answered on Dec 18, 2018

If you work in South Carolina, then South Carolina law would apply, unless there's a provision in the contract that says that another state's laws would apply.

1 Answer | Asked in Employment Law and Workers' Compensation for South Carolina on
Q: My father just had his work comp case closed, but he cannot meet the requirements for his job because of the injury.

What are his options? He has only done receiving and shipping work all his life. He cant lift more than 25lbs with his arm now an that is with pain still.

Ilene Stacey King
Ilene Stacey King answered on Aug 28, 2018

By closed, do you mean he has settled his claim? Does he have a lawyer? If he has settled his claim, his options may depend on how the claim was settled. Depending on the circumstances, there may not be much else he can do except apply for social security disability. If he has not settled his... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Employment Law for South Carolina on
Q: My boss threatened me with a hefty lawsuit if i mess up again. Can he really do that over a mistake?

I work for an ecig retail shop in Fort Mill, SC. After not properly IDing someone who was a secret shopper (and easily looked 30-35 years old), I was threatened by y boss in a very crass manner that he would file a civil suit against me until i have no money left and owe him for the rest of my... Read more »

Jeremy R. Summerlin
Jeremy R. Summerlin answered on Aug 28, 2018

I don't see what legal grounds he would have to sue you over, unless you signed some sort of contract with him that provides him with some remedy for a situation like this, which I doubt.

1 Answer | Asked in Employment Law for South Carolina on
Q: South Carolina employer automatically deducts 30 minutes of pay after 6 hours of work whether I take it or not. Legal?
Jeremy R. Summerlin
Jeremy R. Summerlin answered on Aug 28, 2018

No, if you are working during those "break times," then you should be paid for those hours worked. That type of deduction, if you're still working, is wage theft and illegal in SC.

1 Answer | Asked in Employment Discrimination and Employment Law for South Carolina on
Q: If a employee separates hisself from his employer . An they don’t want to give him his last paycheck what can happen ?

Can he sue the employer ?

Jeremy R. Summerlin
Jeremy R. Summerlin answered on Aug 28, 2018

Yes, if an employer fails to pay the employee, then the employee can bring a lawsuit under the SC Wage Payment Act. If the amount owed is less than $7500, then you can bring a lawsuit in small claims court/magistrate's court yourself. You can also contact the SC LLR to file a complaint, although... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Employment Law for South Carolina on
Q: Can I get unemployment if I get fire or laid off within 90 days of hire or employment. ?
Jeremy R. Summerlin
Jeremy R. Summerlin answered on Jun 4, 2018

You can apply for unemployment benefits, but the amount you might receive is based on your income in the months leading to your termination. Also, if you were fired for cause, then you won't receive any benefits.

1 Answer | Asked in Employment Law for South Carolina on
Q: AFTER BEING ON FMLA I RETURNED TO WORK TO MY SAME JOB BUT WAS ONLY GIVEN 3 DAYS TO WORK INSTEAD OF 5. CAN THEY DO THIS.

I HAVE BEEN WITH THIS COMPANY FOR 18 YEARS AND HAVE ALWAYS WORKED 5 DAYS A WEEK. FMLA SAYS THAT I SHOULD HAVE MY SAME JOB AND WORK SCHEDULE AND PAY.

Jeremy R. Summerlin
Jeremy R. Summerlin answered on May 8, 2018

You may have a claim for FMLA retaliation. You should speak with an employment attorney in more detail to determine your legal options.

1 Answer | Asked in Employment Law for South Carolina on
Q: Incorrect job classification results in unfair pay. Can I sue?

Employer informed job classification is lower than what is appropriate for the type of work I do. As a result, I’m being paid less than I should be. As job duties continue to increase, my salary has not been corrected. What can I do to receive fair compensation?

Jeremy R. Summerlin
Jeremy R. Summerlin answered on May 3, 2018

Unfair pay can be negotiated to a more fair salary amount, but there's no legal claim for it. The only exception is for cases where you have been misclassified as exempt from overtime pay but you are, in fact, working overtime hours without getting paid overtime (in other words, you might be... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Employment Law, Personal Injury and Workers' Compensation for South Carolina on
Q: I went to the er for a scratched cornea and before I left work me and my boss called to report my injury and I filled

An incident report but I wasn’t told to go to a specific emergency room and I also talked to my boss upon entering the er and afterwards I was out of work for about a week but upon returning I found out the er I went to wasn’t part of their workers comp and they used my accumulated sick time to... Read more »

Carole Jean Hayes
Carole Jean Hayes answered on Apr 27, 2018

Generally, when you injure yourself while working, you are entitled to 66% of your average weekly wages if you miss more than 7 days. The insurance company is also responsible for directing and payment of your causally-related medical treatment. If you had to go to the ER immediately after given... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Employment Law and Family Law for South Carolina on
Q: Am I entitled to have 3 days off for my aunt passing away?
Jeremy R. Summerlin
Jeremy R. Summerlin answered on Apr 12, 2018

South Carolina law does not require an employer to offer funeral leave; however some employers do offer it as a benefit. Check your employee handbook. Otherwise, you'll just have to request it off and see what the employer does.

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.