L. Ilaine Upton's answer The loan has to be either federal or private. There is no other option. Ask for a copy of the promisssory note, if you don’t have it anymore. And a payment history. That’s your first step to figuring this out.
F. Paul Maloof's answer If you file a garnishment summons, you and the employer are required to appear before the court. The clerk's office will give you a list of required documents that are required and the forms of service if process. If any money is withheld by the employer, it will be sent to the court and given to you on the return date.
Thomas Woodward Ashton's answer It depends. Did you sign an agreement at the dentist's office to pay for treatment? If so, then the statute of limitations could be 5 years, not 3. Also, if they already have a judgment against you, it could be longer that 5 years. This is very fact-specific, and is something you should discuss with an attorney who can give you legal advice based on your spefici set of facts.
Ronald J. Eisenberg's answer Each state has its own statute of limitations. Google your state's name, "breach of contract," and "statute of limitations." My guess is that the claim is time-barred. Certain actions, like a payment toward the debt, might restart the statutory period.
L. Ilaine Upton's answer I am assuming she requested a Bill of Particulars. If that is the situation, yes, you do need to respond according to the rules of court. If the requests are informal, please consider whether your failure to cooperate will be seen by the court as prolonging the dispute. If the dispute can be resolved informally, this is something that the court will prefer.
Robert R Weed's answer The reason bankruptcy is in the law is NOT really so donald Trump could keep his casinos. It's so you can clear these debts and get back to good credit and get on with your life. You need to talk to a bankrutpcy lawyer.
F. Paul Maloof's answer The first step is to file a Warrant in Debt in Virginia. The defendants may have a defense of the statute of limitations f 3 years for oral contracts in Virginia. Once you have a judge award you a judgment, then you will need to collect it through the court procedures.
L. Ilaine Upton's answer The statute of limitations for medical debt is 5 years. A derogatory remark can stay on your credit report for 7 years. You can dispute the debt with the three credit reporting agencies directly. Start with annualcreditreport.com
L. Ilaine Upton's answer The date on the garnishment summons is the "return date," which is the date that the creditor goes to court to collect the garnishment checks. Your pay will be garnished, typically 25% of your take home pay, until that date. In order to garnish you, there has to be a judgment somewhere. Once a judgment has been entered, and the appeal period has run, it's almost impossible to do anything about it unless there was bad service of process. Bankruptcy may be an option for you.
Timothy R Johnson's answer Hire a local attorney to defend the case. If you don't do anything, you will have a default judgment entered against you, and at some point, the plaintiff may pursue assets of yours in Virginia (if any), and if the amount is significant enough, possibly against you in Florida.
If your message means that the property was surrendered in February 2013, there's a chance, depending on what exactly happened and on the terms of the contract, that you may be able to allege that the contract's...
F. Paul Maloof's answer If the party suing you has the warrant in Debt properly served, the court will have jurisdiction over you and may enter a judgment against you. You should hire a lawyer to represent you in court.
F. Paul Maloof's answer Even though you are bringing a claim for your SD in small claims court, the landlord has the right to bring a separate claim for the alleged damages. If the landord brings its claim in small claims court, you may be able to have both claims consolidated and heard at the same time. You can notify the Judge and see what he says.
Susan Fremit's answer You need to send a letter to the individual giving him 2 weeks to complete the work. (Make a copy of that letter for your file.) If the work order is not completed in 2 weeks, take the work order and text messages, along with the copy of the cashed check to the magistrate's office in your county and ask that the person who was a "no show" be charged with construction fraud, which is a felony considering the amount exceeds $200.
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.