Following a car accident
answered on Oct 18, 2022
A Nevada attorney could advise best, but your question remains open for two weeks. It's always possible in every case, but the other side would need to demonstrate that their damages exceed the limits of your policy. Unless the coverage is very bare bones with policy limits at the statutory... Read more »
my coverage falls short of claim.
answered on Jul 5, 2022
A Nevada attorney could advise best, but your question remains open for a week. I'm sorry about your accident. I hope you and the other occupants are okay. It could depend on what coverage you're talking about. If it's your vehicle and only property damage, you could be left with the... Read more »
We're at fault and something about shared responsibility. Been trying to get ahold of them but to no avail. How do I dispute their decision and get my car fixed
answered on Dec 26, 2021
A Nevada attorney could advise best, but your post remains open for three weeks. The situation you describe is a difficult one to resolve amicably. It's your word against the other driver's. Unless there's some form of convincing evidence, such as video footage or testimony from a... Read more »
answered on Mar 31, 2021
More information is needed in order to properly answer your question. I would recommend that you use Justia's FInd a Lawyer tab and search for auto accident/personal injury lawyers in Nevada and call a few of them---most will provide you a free, no obligation consultation----discuss your... Read more »
I was involved in a vehicle accident in Nevada. While the officer's report and testimony place the other party at fault, Nevada is a shared fault state. With that said, my insurance company wants to offer the other party a small settlement in an attempt to put the matter behind me. How can... Read more »
answered on Mar 26, 2021
You should call me for a free consultation, I have helped numerous clients with similar cases (434) 660-970-
The defendant's insurance company has agreed to repair my vehicle, however, are not willing to provide a free rental vehicle equivalent to that being repaired.
answered on Feb 24, 2021
The law in most states only requires that they give you A rental vehicle. You lost a Lamorghini--they can get you a toyota corolla. The only time I've gotten exceptions are where the vehicle was particular to that person's business or health-- a vehicle that could accomodate a wheelchair,... Read more »
I was rear ended as a passenger at a traffic light. I now have major back problems. There were 3 others in the vehicle but it appears I was injured the worse. Since I was not going to the doctor on a regular basis, my attorney wants me to settle for $5K in which I will only receive about $2.5K. My... Read more »
answered on Sep 23, 2020
A Nevada attorney could advise best, but your question remains open for a week. It's difficult for an attorney to advise on a file site unseen, and in particular, one where the claimant is already represented. As a general matter, it doesn't mean a great deal for an offer to be the first... Read more »
answered on Aug 17, 2020
A Nevada attorney could advise best, but your question remains open for two weeks. If you haven't already, you could consult with a Nevada traffic ticket attorney to review the citation and determine the best course of action. If the citation is relevant to the cause of the accident in terms... Read more »
I was searching for liens against me on the Courts record and State Farm had a lien placed on me 20 years ago. Does this drop off after a certain period of time?. I’ve never been taken to court on it and it doesn’t show on my credit reports
answered on Apr 23, 2020
Generally, in most states a judgment needs to be renewed every 6 years or so. First, you need to look at the law for that state. Then you can either ignore the lien, or file a case to have the lien "extinguished." I'd start by talking to the administrator of wherever the lien was... Read more »
What are the laws relating to minors driving w/o permission, causing an accident, with over $40k in medical bills?
answered on Nov 6, 2019
You should get advice--and the services--of an attorney with the Nevada Trial Lawyers Assn in the county where the wreck happened--they give free consults. I'm assuming it's their fault--if its your fault, the fact that he wasn't licensed etc doesn't mean you collect if... Read more »
would I be committing perjury if I got the date wrong?
answered on Sep 11, 2019
If you say that was the date and knew it was not that's one thing. If you say "on or about" that's another. If you get the year wrong then maybe use different words. Or you could actually have an attorney's in person advice. Not sure why you are doing this for a 30 year old... Read more »
My car was only 4 months old, a 2019 Honda Civic with only 3400 miles on it
The other person was at fault and the insurance has admitted they’re at fault
I have gap insurance but I’ll be left without a car
answered on Jul 11, 2019
What you do is that you thank yourself for having gap. If you were hurt in the wreck you have an injury claim and should pursue it--contact a member of the Nv. Assn for Justice in the county where it happened--they give free consults.
My wife was in a No Injury accident a week ago. My wife had a solid green arrow and was turning into her work shopping center and the defendant ran the red light and t-boned her car. We filed a claim with the defendant's insurance company and they assigned 60% of the blame to their insured and... Read more »
answered on Apr 6, 2019
Is there a police report? If so what did the cop say? Was the other driver cited? File a complaint with the insurance commissioner in your state. This is a bogus ploy that insurance companies like to pull out and it needs legislative action.
answered on Jun 29, 2018
No way. You can sue him for the damage to your ride if he was at fault.
Hi, I recently wrecked into someone while uninsured and now as indicated by the inspection sheet from a local mechanic shop provided by the other driver, I owe her 4000 dollars. Ive been paying her 200 dollars a month, and have payed up 1200 of it so far in the last 4 months (tax return really... Read more »
answered on Mar 15, 2018
I'm assuming they got some type of judgement or agreement, and so she can do as she pleases.
answered on Nov 11, 2017
Your uninsured motorist if you have it. Why not contact a member of the Nv.Assn for Justice? They give free consultations.
I was involved in a car accident and the officers did a dui test on me but they never tested the other driver. I’m not claiming that she was drinking just doesn’t seem right to me. I was claimed at fault because I was making a left hand turn. As the ticket states failure to yeild at an... Read more »
answered on Oct 14, 2017
No, it's because cop felt you may have been driving. He needed "probable cause." if she didnt' appear to have been drinking, no reason to test her.
Left turn vehicle has duty to yield.
Unless she came through on a yellow light for her, I don't see her being at fault.
She is listed on the policy but not as a driver because she does not have a license, my insurance company is telling me my coverage limit is $10,000 and anything over I personally will be liable for. Is there anyway i can dissolve myself of any responsibility for the accident as a whole and hold... Read more »
answered on Oct 9, 2017
You need to talk to a bankrupcty attorney --look for a member of the NACA --go to consumeradvocates.org
Ask your insurance company to divide up the payments and get releases.
Look at your policy. Do you have homeowners? Check and see if that covers any excess liability.
If... Read more »
answered on Oct 9, 2017
It's like any crash involving damage to property--the leaving the scene law applies. They have to give their name, registration and insurance information.
Two years ago I was in car accident and I was not insured and only had my permit. The other party is trying to put me at fault and in this case I will be because I did not have my license. We are still in the process of seeing who is at fault. She never showed up to any of the court cases and when... Read more »
answered on Sep 22, 2017
Fight the reopen. She has I assume filed a motion to reopen. May be worth your while paying a defense attorney to at least advise you.
By the way your being without a license doesn't make you at fault. You are only at fault if you cause the wreck. Makes sense for you to get a copy of... Read more »
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.