Peter N. Munsing's answer Why not contact a member of the Indiana Justice Assn--they give free consultations. The difficult is much can depend on your medical treatment, need for future treatment, and the language used to describe your injuries and symptoms. Your medical means what--did they pay the subrogation claim your carrier may have?
Peter N. Munsing's answer Contact a member of the Indiana Assn for Justice for the county where the wreck happened to see what options you have for uninsured motorist or other party liablity--they give free consults.
Peter N. Munsing's answer No, he's --or you--have mixed it up. You file with the other insurance if it's a rear ender. However if you were hurt, call a member of the Texas Trial Lawyers Assn--they give free consults.
Peter N. Munsing's answer Not if your insurance paid for the total loss value of the vehicle. Even in situations with replacement loss you don't get two settlements. Unless your state recognizes replacement value--which few statesw allow--No. You can ask to have the other driver & owner's licenses suspended but that's about it.
Charles Candiano's answer Your ages have NOTHING to do with anything. The taillight has little to do with liability. If I understand correctly, you were both driving on a 4-lane road (2 lanes in each direction - you state "that is why she got into the left lane"), in the outside lane.
You are probably BOTH responsible.
1.) You probably were following here too closely for her to see you in the first place. She probably stopped to make sure that nobody was approaching but she couldn't...
Chase T Wilson's answer This should be a simple case, but with the injuries involved you'll want to contact a local personal injury lawyer. Please do so soon as the statute of limitations for these types of cases is 2 years. After that time has passed you won't be able to pursue the claim. If you have any further questions feel free to respond here, e-mail me, or call our office.
Charles Candiano's answer Unless you have insurance, in excess of 25,000, you have no recourse, irrespective of your injuries. If you do have auto insurance with higher limits, any personal injury attorney can assist you.
Your driver's license will be permanently suspended unless you enter into a repayment agreement. Moreover, if the other driver had insurance, their insurance paid the claim and they will secure a judgment against you and possibly secure a garnishment Order against you bank accounts and wages. Bankruptcy is the only way to make it go away. It would be a shame to go through Bankruptcy over $5,000. Besides, the most basic...
Chase T Wilson's answer Likely no, the insurance company will require you to sign a release before giving you the settlement proceeds. That release will bar you from going after the insurance company or the individual in the future.
Charles Candiano's answer This has nothing to do with car accidents. If it has been filed, the Court should know about it. The fact that someone else filed for similar relief is irrelevant to your particular situation.
Charles Candiano's answer Whether it is a hardship for you to pay has NOTHING to do with anything. This should have been put through your own insurance from the beginning, given the uncertainty of the defendant's coverage. You would have had your car back in a week.
Demand that the defendant's insurance company provide you with a written denial of coverage with a cc to the Illinois Department of Insurance. Everything about the claim is highly suspect.
If it turns out that the defendant's insurance had...
Charles Candiano's answer If the payment was made by the insurance company, NO. ALL insurance companies require that a Release is executed BEFORE they pay any money. If you are sued, give the documents to your insurance company immediately. They will have the matter dismissed.
Peter N. Munsing's answer Well, first, do you agree with the check they want to give you? Second, if you were hurt, you may have an injury claim, and need to speak with a member of the Illinois Justice Assn--they give free consults.
Charles Candiano's answer If you have property damage coverage, contact your insurance company and provide them with a copy of the note left by the other driver. If you do not have property damage coverage, you may have to file a Small Claims action.
Peter N. Munsing's answer You have a right to be paid the damage to your car. Your Apartment is habitable so why could you break your lease? Take a look at it--I'll bet under conditions that allow you to leave it's conditions making the apartment uninhapbitable, not a fire adjacent to your parking place.
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.