Indiana Juvenile Law Questions & Answers

Q: Is it illegal for a 24 year old to date a 16 year old in Indiana

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Answered on Nov 29, 2018
Paul Stanko's answer
16 is the age of consent, so "dating" is not illegal per se. Contributing to deliquency is an entirely different matter. That, of course, would be illegal.

Q: if I'm 17 are my dad and step mom allowed to touch my personal property and things i have payed for myself

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Answered on Aug 6, 2018
John Mario Acosta Jr.'s answer
Based on your question, I can appreciate your situation being a young adult, but with that said you are considered a minor until you turn 18 and as such you can't own property. The property you speak of belongs to your parents or to those whom you live with. The property purchased by your mother would belong to her but if it is in their home then then can touch it and go through it. Furthermore, when you turn 18 and if you decide to move out and their is a dispute as to who owns the property...

Q: Can my 12 yr old brother get in trouble with the authorities for stealing hundreds of dollars off of someone's account?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, Gaming and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Answered on May 7, 2018
Andrew L. Bennett's answer
Yes he can and it a police report has already been made will likely be prosecuted in the juvenile court.

Q: I'm 16 years old living in Elkhart Indiana. Can I move out of my parents house without their consent.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Child Custody and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Answered on Apr 23, 2018
Kevin E. Flynn's answer
This is not a patent question. Justia needs to revise their topics to make it Patent/inventions as Patents looks a lot like Parents. You may want to drop the patent topic from this question

Good luck.

Kevin E Flynn

Q: I got punched in the face 5 times by a 16yr old female. I'm in and out of hospitals. Can I get her on battery?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, Personal Injury and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Answered on Mar 2, 2018
Andrew L. Bennett's answer
You cannot file criminal charges against her that is the responsibility of the prosecuting attorney. However, you can call the police to make a report if that has not already happened. The police should sent the report to the prosecutor to review for battery charges. It is entirely the state's decision to file or not to file. You can also contact an attorney to pursue a civil suit for damages that would allow you to collect more that you would get in restitution in a criminal case.

Q: I'd like to get my probation unsuccessfully terminated, how would I go about doing this?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Answered on Feb 18, 2018
Andrew L. Bennett's answer
Be careful with an unsuccessful termination of probation, it could haunt you later in life.

Q: If I runaway, and I'm under 18, can my mom call the police and report me as a runaway and/or arrest me

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, Family Law and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Answered on Dec 20, 2017
Andrew L. Bennett's answer
The short answer is yes. However, if you are considering running away, things must be pretty bad at home. You should contact the police, CPS or another agency to seek help. Do not put yourself in a dangerous position by running away.

Q: Should I turn in my 18-yr-old Indiana teen for sexting 16- & 17-yr-old boys? It's her 2nd time!

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, Internet Law and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Answered on Dec 4, 2017
Andrew L. Bennett's answer
If you pay for her phone, Take her phone.

Q: What can I do if my mom hits me or assaults me while she is drunk, she kicked me out of the house and Im missing school.

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Personal Injury and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Answered on Oct 24, 2017
Chase T Wilson's answer
Call the police and/or the Department of Child Services immediately.

Q: If a 15 year old fights someone younger, will they get in trouble?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, Personal Injury and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Answered on Sep 1, 2017
William Hurst's answer
This isn't really a personal injury question, but they may be charged. If the fight was instigated by the younger child, however, the older child has the right to self defense.

Q: Can they arrest a 16 year old on three felonies without for sure knowing if she's guilty or not

2 Answers | Asked in Criminal Law, Appeals / Appellate Law, Civil Rights and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Answered on Aug 16, 2017
William Head's answer
To arrest, only probable cause to believe a crime was committed is sufficient. This is not even 50-50, but can be less than 50% likely. So, yes.

She needs to remain silent. Get a great criminal defense lawyer.

Q: Can I change a verbal statement without incriminating myself?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Answered on Jun 21, 2017
Paul Stanko's answer
It is unlikely that the prosecutor is basing such charges on just your hearsay statements. You never should have given irrelevant statements at the scene to begin with, but that is all water under the bridge. To protect yourself, consult a criminal defense attorney to make sure you are not facing possible criminal charges yourself. DO NOT, EVER, talk to a prosecutor without speaking to defense counsel first!

Q: I am a 16 year old female, If my 18 year old boyfriend gets me pregnant, can my parents put him in jail or sue him?

2 Answers | Asked in Juvenile Law and Criminal Law for Indiana on
Answered on Apr 11, 2017
Alexander Florian Steciuch's answer
The age of consent in Indiana is age 16, so no, he could not be arrested for intercourse with you under statutory rape laws.

Q: My gpa passed away when I was 12 and left me a very large amount of money. Obviously I wasn't allowed to have it

1 Answer | Asked in Probate, Juvenile Law and Securities Law for Indiana on
Answered on Mar 1, 2017
Alexander Florian Steciuch's answer
You are legally entitled to the money that was left to you as a minor. Your mother as your custodian had a duty to hold that money for you until you came of age. You need to consult with an attorney as soon as possible to discuss your options as there may be an issue with the statute of limitations for bringing a claim against your mother to recover your inheritance.

Q: Im 17 ill be 18 this year, If I runaway until I'm 18 can they still charge me?

1 Answer | Asked in Child Custody, Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Answered on Feb 26, 2017
Paul Stanko's answer
Until you are 18, unless you are emancipated, you are still under your parents' care and control.

Q: If my 17 year old brother attacks me and I'm 18 but I don't attack him back, can I press charges and not get in trouble?

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law and Criminal Law for Indiana on
Answered on Feb 26, 2017
Paul Stanko's answer
Are you sure you want to get the authorities involved? Once you call the police, the decision on whether charges are filed is entirely with the prosecutor. You will have to give a statement, and if the case goes to trial, you will have to testify. Of course you can go against your mom's advice, but you should think very carefully before you do.

Q: If my older sister hits me a 16 year old multiple times, and calls the police on me, can i plead assaulting a minor?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Answered on Feb 15, 2017
Paul Stanko's answer
The prosecutor will look at the facts and make that decision. Only prosecutors can file charges.

Q: If I will be 18 on march 15 can I my mother report me as a runaway?

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Answered on Jan 28, 2017
Brian Lehman's answer
First, before doing anything drastic, I recommend reaching out to social services or an organization that might help you out. Any young person is at an increased risk for all sorts of bad things, and it's wise to ask people for help.

With that said, the law that applies in Indiana is this one:

Sec. 2. A child commits a delinquent act if, before becoming eighteen (18) years of age, the child leaves home or a specific location previously designated by the child's parent,...

Q: Can a judges decsion to waive a juvenile into adult court be appealed?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Indiana on
Answered on Dec 31, 2016
Paul Stanko's answer
That would require an interlocutory appeal. The judge's decision would only be overturned if it was contrary to law or an abuse of discretion.

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.