Has a I.E.P and behavioral plan. The public schools do not know how to regulate a child with disabilities. So he has always struggled in school. Wright county is trying to charge him with 4th degree assault on a officer (felony) and 4th degree assault on school staff.
Can a delinquency petition be filed? Yes. Is your child going to be adjudicated delinquent? That is impossible to predict with the information that is provided in this question. But the Court will certainly take into consideration any mental health issues and appropriate programming when...View More
My 12 year old brother has been arrested for assault for stabbing a staff member in his mental health group home with a knife. He was arrested and is now on a 36 to 72 hour hold in county jail waiting to see a judge. Is this legal? Minnesota says someone under 14 cannot commit a crime. How do you... View More
Last time I checked, the minimum age in Minnesota was 10, for prosecuting criminal violations in juvenile court. But a lawyer may have been able to help with these issues. Another idea would be to talk to the medical staff or social worker in the juvenile detention facility.
We were in the street I got dragged out. She hit me first and defended myself. I’m very petite and I’m sister is strong and bigger and has the upperhand. She got a bump on her head i got scratch marks on my side and knee. My hair was pulled and I had stuff in the car I couldn’t get to, the... View More
You certainly have a legal right to defend yourself and your unborn child. It seems like you might have some exposure of being charged with a 5th Degree Assault. That is a misdemeanor unless you have prior assault convictions. You need an attorney. You should either hire a private attorney or...View More
The mother of my bfs daughter has been trying to change the last name of his 3yo daughter to her new married name. He first received a letter in the mail regarding this motion in Sept. The letter only indicated the time, date, and virtual hearing link. It was in Oct 2021 and he showed up to find... View More
That would depend upon several facts not stated in the question. For example, a person may or may not be in lawful possession of a firearm. If not lawfully possessed, the person could be charged with an unlawful possession crime regardless of any self-defense issues. Assuming a person was in...View More
The charge is felony gun possession with ammunition possession and the accused is juvenile felon that was sealed years ago. The firearm is legally registered to another person that is legally allowed to own one, and happened to forgot in defendant vehicle but was not physically on the defendant.
I’m 16 and recently my parent’s bank account had a credit card fraud by a different person somewhere off state but they also discovered that I’ve made a couple microtransactions without their permission but after the call towards the bank I promised to pay them back. However the bank said... View More
Try to focus your attention on time and the possible. Events in the past cannot be changed. But you can control your behavior in the present and the future. So don't overthink past mistakes that are too late to change. Instead, learn from past mistakes, and resolve to make better choices...View More
Take a look at the web page for the "Minnesota State Board of Law Examiners » Character and Fitness Requirements." My guess is that it will be possible, though perhaps some extra attention may be necessary when applying. You could also give them a call to discuss your situation.
We didn't see any no trespassing signs and we weren't planning on causing any damage, so we went in to explore a piece of history. However, the cops showed up and we all received citations. Is there such thing as a trespassing citation and were we even breaking the law by exploring the... View More
Of course there is such such thing as a trespassing citation. Whether what you did qualifies as trespassing is a different question. Was the building locked? Was it posted? Did you refuse to leave after being asked to? There are a lot of other questions here that need answering. You should...View More
Only the police or a prosecutor can initiate a criminal investigation and charge. A person can complain to police, who might or might not investigate. If police do investigate, avoid talking to them. Talk to a criminal lawyer first. Apart from legal action, it's a good idea to respect...View More
It appears that the minimum age at which a youth can be adjudicated delinquent is 10 years old; but the youngest age at which a youth can be certified as an adult for criminal liability is 14. However my view is that many young juveniles are incompetent to participate in the court process due to...View More
Several weeks ago my daughter (17) was shoulder-checked hard and intentionally by a coworker (30s) who was upset with her. She told her managers but nothing was done. She didnt report it to anyone else as she feared getting fired (the coworker is friends with the boss). She has recently quit that... View More
I’m 17 and I got into a fight with an 18yr old and now she is facing 60days in jail for assaulting a minor. It was a stupid fight and we made up and are now friends and I really don’t want her to go to jail over something I kinda started. Is there anything I can do to help her?
Yes, though it will take persistent effort on your part. Typically, there is one prosecution witness. If that witness refuses to cooperate by appearing at the trial, the prosecution may be dismissed. Prior to that, the witness can persistently communicate his or her desire that the prosecutor...View More
No one could answer that question with the given information. People held for probation violations tend to be locked up longer, than those who only are facing a new charge. Contact the jail to see if they allow visiting hours for juveniles. If he was charged with a felony at age 16 or older, his...View More
The question is unclear. What happens to false charges? Or what happens to a person who makes a false allegation? Much will depend upon the full picture of all the circumstances. A happy or sad ending is possible for either. Caution is warranted. Beyond that that maybe a phone call would...View More
If it's a question about a Missouri case, you could post the question under the appropriate Missouri category so that a Missouri lawyer will see it, and perhaps answer it for you. In case you weren't aware, this was posted in Minnesota, the wrong state for the question.
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.