Lawyers, Answer Questions  & Get Points Log In
New York Insurance Defense Questions & Answers
Q: Will I loose my car if I go to court?

Me and my friend both a car together. I put $10,000 money down but we are both on the loan. I am the co-buyer and he is the primary buyer. The title, Registration and Insurance is under my name. Car was just purchased. He said he will call the bank and have them resend the title and registration to... Read more »

Adam Studnicki
Adam Studnicki
answered on Nov 13, 2015

This isn't a car accidents question.

Please Take Notice: I am not your lawyer unless we enter into an engagement agreement in writing. This is only general information. It is NOT legal advice, and it may not work for your specific situation. It is impossible to evaluate a legal...
Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Insurance Defense for New York on
Q: Does selling stand alone indemnification that assumes risk of liability constitute doing an insurance business?

I want to license a photograph with unreleased images of people in it. It is very unlikely that the people who appear in this photo will ever see the photo or initiate a lawsuit based on the lack of release form. If I put in the indemnification provision of the licensing agreement that I will... Read more »

Terrence H Thorgaard
Terrence H Thorgaard
answered on Sep 3, 2015

You are giving them a license, of which the indemnification provision is merely a part. Thus no, the license would not be a stand-alone insurance contract.

1 Answer | Asked in Insurance Defense for New York on
Q: My car insurance company stopped paying my medical bills after I went to an exam with their doctor. Can I appeal?
Mark A. Siesel
Mark A. Siesel
answered on Apr 27, 2011

Under New York's No-Fault provisions of the Insurance Law, you can arbitrate the decision to deny you further medical benefits. However, if you have a personal injury claim or lawsuit arising out of this accident, it is preferable that you wait until the completion of the personal injury case... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Insurance Defense for New York on
Q: Is there a time limitation for filing a no-fault claim in New York State? If so, how much time do I have?
Mark A. Siesel
Mark A. Siesel
answered on Apr 23, 2011

Under the Insurance Law in New York, a no-fault claim for payment of medical bills and loss earnings suffered in a car accident must be submitted to your own auto insurance company within 30 days of an accident. If this is not done, it is likely that the no-fault claim will not be valid.

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.