Tennessee Juvenile Law Questions & Answers

Q: What's the consequences of being a minor and getting charged with possession of a controlled substance (schedule IV)?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Answered on Feb 16, 2019
Cayley Turrin's answer
It is an A misdemeanor punishable up to 11 months and 29 days and a fine of $2500. You should consult with a local criminal attorney immediately.

Q: My 17 year old son has to go to court in a few days for being accused of a crime. Should I have him plead not gilty ?

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Answered on Jan 11, 2019
Anthony Marvin Avery's answer
Hire a competent attorney immediately to prepare for Court. You did not specify if it was Juvenile or General Sessions, but even Juvenile Dispositions appear on Records nowadays. He does not need a conviction as it will ruin his life from now on. At worse he needs Diversion, Dismissal and Expungement. Possibly Restitution may help.

Q: If I filed unruly for one child would the court say I won't be able to handle my other 2 and be taken into DCS custody

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Answered on Jan 11, 2019
Leonard Robert Grefseng's answer
your question can't be answered without a thorough and complete review of all circumstances, which is beyond the scope of this question and answer format. Consult an experienced family law attorney for advice on your specific situation.

However, strictly speaking - a juvenile petition on one child is limited to the issues concerning THAT child, so unless there is some further inquiry, the situation of the other two children will not be addressed in court.

Q: My niece is in a bad living situation. She will be 17 in Feb. Can she legally move out? She lives in Tennessee

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Answered on Dec 29, 2018
Cayley Turrin's answer
Unfortunately no but you can make an anonymous tip to DCS if you are very worried for her.

Q: If I am 16 can go to jail for truancy

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Answered on Dec 29, 2018
Cayley Turrin's answer
You can be housed in juvenile detention for this if the Judge decides it’s appropriate.

Q: Assault and Battery from a Juvenile

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Answered on Dec 29, 2018
Cayley Turrin's answer
Yes. I would suggest contacting the police immediately.

Q: My daughter just got charged with assault. She has to go in front of the judge Monday morning what should I expect?

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Answered on Dec 9, 2018
Cayley Turrin's answer
That is not good. I would suggest hiring an attorney for her immediately so it does not affect her future.

Q: If I’m 18 and I had a 16 year old accuse me of touching her no intercourse what’s the worst that could happen?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Answered on Nov 12, 2018
Anthony Marvin Avery's answer
Several possible charges: Aggravated Sexual Battery; Assault; Attempted Rape; and others.. I recommend not having any contact with her or her friends.

Q: My b/f turned18 this year, I’m16. We been dating for about a year. Our parents allow us. Can he get in trouble

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law, Federal Crimes, Gov & Administrative Law and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Answered on Nov 1, 2018
Anthony Marvin Avery's answer
Yes he can be prosecuted. Somebody will get jealous or mad, and will then turn him in. You will be pressured by the authorities.

Q: How can i go about emancipating my two teens?

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Answered on Oct 5, 2018
Leonard Robert Grefseng's answer
You have to file a written request ( a "petition") with the local court clerk asking for this to be done. The other parent will have to also join in or at least be notified and receive a copy of the petition ( that is called "service of process"). Your question does not specify the ages of the "teens" but the court might not allow it if they are unable to support themselves. There are other remedies to control their behavior other then emancipation- perhaps they should go into state custody? A...

Q: My 14 year old nephew is facing 3 felonies 2 are d felonies and the other is as e felony he has never been in trouble

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Answered on Jun 27, 2018
Mr. Kent Thomas Jones Esq.'s answer
If he is facing three felonies, you should consult with a local criminal defense attorney. You don't just get off from those things.

Q: If I runaway and I’m under the age of 17 ... if I get caught what will they do to me ? What will happen ?

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Answered on Jun 26, 2018
Leonard Robert Grefseng's answer
You could be charged in juvenile court as "unruly"- the ultimate disposition will be up to the local juvenile court judge and depending on your prior record, it could be anything between some form of probation or supervision ( almost nothing) and at the other extreme, juvenile detention ( "jail"). Since you are almost a legal adult, you should expect to be treated like an adult. Unless you are being physically abused or there is some other real danger to your situation, I strongly suggest you...

Q: 3 Juveniles broke in my home and stole some items. The Police have recovered some of the items. Will I get them back?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Answered on May 9, 2018
Lawrence James Arnkoff's answer
Yes but you might have to wait awhile before you get them back. As long as

they are evidence they will be held by the prosecuting authority. Find out

who the lead officer is on the case and respectfully ask him to keep you advised

of the progress on the case and remind him you would like your property returned

as soon as possible.

Q: i am 16 years old. i was adopted a couple of years ago and i was wondering if i could legally move out w/o consent

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law, Adoption and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Answered on Apr 28, 2018
Marjorie A Bristol's answer
No, you cannot move out without parental consent until you are 18.

Q: If another state dramatically mismanages a foster child's case, can I sue the sate for legal guardianship?

2 Answers | Asked in Family Law, Adoption, Child Custody and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Answered on Apr 5, 2018
Mr. William Ray Glasgow's answer
There may be actions you can take to get children properly placed, but it appears you need an experienced attorney at this point. "Suing" the state should not be at the top of your list. It is difficult for everyone when the state finds it necessary to remove children from their parents. These case often get out of control despite the good intentions of the state actors. Y

Q: Is it Tennessee law that a settlement involving a minor be placed in a trust fund until the child is of legal age

1 Answer | Asked in Personal Injury and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Answered on Apr 2, 2018
Mr. James Charles Wright's answer
There are a number of statutory considerations for minor settlements. One issue is whether the amount is greater than 10,000.

http://butlervinesbabblaw.com/blog/how-to-deal-with-minor-settlements/

Something, whether a trust, or other fiduciary protection is needed for amounts over 10,000 to make sure the mine's needs are met.

Q: What is the punishment for a 17 year old driver in violation of 55-8-136-b

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets, Car Accidents and Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Answered on Apr 2, 2018
Mr. James Charles Wright's answer
Look at TCA 40-35-111. TCA 55-8-136 states a violation is a class C misdeamenor.

Up to a 50 dollar fine and/or 30 days. Not likely going to get any days- A fine generally. If the person goes to court and is found guilty court costs will be added. You will need to check with the clerk where the ticket was issued for Court costs amount. If it is a first offense the court may grant diversion on payment of costs which would keep it off of the insurance record. Another siginificant...

Q: I am 17 if I runaway can the police bring me home if I'm In a safe place and still going

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Tennessee on
Answered on Mar 30, 2018
Marjorie A Bristol's answer
Yes, they can. You cannot leave home without parental permission until you are 18.

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.