State of Louisiana, never been in trouble with the law.
answered on Feb 20, 2023
More information is needed in order to give a better answer/assessment. Because it is possible that the 16 year old can be prosecuted as a juvenile or prosecuted as an adult, it is important to hire a lawyer immediately to try to steer this case to the juvenile court as well as to begin mitigation... Read more »
I was served by her father who is a New Orleans domicile seeking joint custody and to establish paternity also he is not on the birth certificate. I moved my daughter her temporarily (4 months) and her home state is in New York (10 months). Can I have the case transferred or dismissed even though... Read more »
answered on Oct 10, 2022
You really need to speak with a Louisiana attorney who handles custody matters. There's a lot of additional information the lawyer would need to know to answer the question, such as where the child was born and when the petition was filed.
First time ever going through this situation. I need an Louisiana Lawyer
answered on Oct 6, 2022
Use the Find a Lawyer tab and search for either a criminal defense lawyer and/or possibly a family law lawyer (depending on the circumstances of the protective order) in the area where your son is located. Call a few lawyers and then hire the one with whom you are most comfortable. Good luck.
The owners live out of state and didn't witness what happened at this public lake and are pressing charges. Can this really happen in Louisiana?
answered on Jun 13, 2022
Can your 13 year old be issued a citation for trespassing? Yes, this can happen, however, for his to be found "guilty" the prosecution will have to provide its case beyond a reasonable doubt. I would recommend that you hire (or at lease consult with) a criminal defense attorney (and one... Read more »
answered on May 23, 2022
You should contact a few criminal defense attorneys in your area and consult with them----- you do not mention the age of your daughter but one of the things you want to do is ask about their experience in handling matters in Juvenile Court as well as the possibility of this matter ending up in... Read more »
Still violate his parole if he has already beat the charges
My 18 yr old son& a friend were in a 1car wreck hit a culvert. The police came to seen both boys where out of car. Driver failed breathalyzer was placed under arrest. Then they turn to my son& give him 2 tickets one for no seatbeltthen then minor in position of alcohol catch is there was... Read more »
answered on Mar 8, 2022
it's pressure from the prosecutor to settle the case early. Yes, it's legal. But not fair. Unfortunately your son needed to speak with an attorney who could review all of the facts available and help mount a good defense. Simply pleading NOT GUILTY and telling the DA you'd consider... Read more »
In September 2019, I was rewarded domicile parent in 19th JDC. My child mother was rewarded of visitation every other weekend. on same day of render judgement, the excise on the judgement began. My child mother kidnapped my child and never return the minor child. when she had illegal custody of... Read more »
answered on Mar 2, 2022
Your attorney can file for child support in your custody case in 19th JDC and can file an exception in 24th JDC to child support since you are domiciliary parent.
i will be 5 months away from turning 17
answered on Feb 28, 2022
You need to:
1) wait 5 months,
2) get a guardasil shot,
3) get on birth control.
I(18yr, British) have found out that a friend of two years (15yr, New Orleans) has been assaulted multiple times by a male peer, first by non-consensual kissing and groping, and more recently through choking, my friend is young and mentally ill (ADHD and a pre-existing ward visit). I've been... Read more »
The defendant is 22 with a 16 year old. The defendant was charged with felony carnal knowledge of a juvenile. The defendant has no prior criminal charges. The sexual contact was oral only.
Where she is living except for with a friend from school. I’ve talked to her a few times so I know she is ok but nothing else. What are my options and who should I contact? I do not want to get into any trouble and shes already missed 4 Unexcused days.
answered on Dec 2, 2021
Call the school principal or counselor and report her as a run away.
Our granddaughter wants to keep the baby can we force the to give up for adoption since neither cannot afford the baby! Can we talk to a judge about forced abortion? The boys mother leaves him home alone at night while she works, dad not involved and has another daughter she doesn’t raise either!... Read more »
answered on Sep 28, 2021
Neither of these children are fit to raise a child. However you can neither put their eventual baby up for adoption or impose an abortion on a minor without consent of that minor.
IF however your granddaughter wises..up in the future, THEN the child can be placed for adoption later or... Read more »
He has no knowledge about innocent or seen innocent
Note, all of this I want to do without them forcing me to come home. I am asking if i could do these things without them bringing me home.
I am currently 15, and my birthday is a few months away. My parents are emotionally abusive and have been for years, and they don't even treat me... Read more »
answered on Aug 5, 2021
You can't move out without parental consent until you are 18.
Legally, if my research has been correct, one can get engaged at any age. However, I am getting mixed answers when it comes to marraige itself. Could someone between the ages of 16 and eighteen get married without parental consent (if one of the individuals parents both consent)?
I would be moving in with my girlfriend and her parents (with their consent). I wanted to know if my parents would still have any legal authority over me.
Say I want to go to a friends house, or a party and I have no permission but I’m 17 and I’m coming back home the same day Would I get in legal trouble…?
answered on Jun 25, 2021
You are a minor for another year and you can end up as a delinquent or your over 18 friends can be arrested for harboring you.
I was answered with a you can move out with a friend once your 18 what about the permission law saying if the law is called by your parent in louisanna because you left while being 17 the law cant mdo anything about it because you are the permission age meaning you dont need your parents permission?
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.