You must be paid for all hours you worked, so you should bring this up to your employer and explain the discrepancy. Moving forward, you should independently track the hours you work so you have your own record of your start and end times.
Thanks and if an employer has a bona fide paid-leave plan in place (paid sick leave, short-term disability, etc.) and an employee is not yet eligible to participate in the plan or has exhausted his or her leave, a full-day deduction from pay is allowed.
An Arkansas attorney could advise best, but your post remains open for three weeks. Those might be a lot of areas of practice to roll into one attorney - the areas you outline in the description, coupled with the categories selected for your post.
My company is based in Colorado and I live in Arkansas (work from home). On August 1st I noticed I was unable to login to one of the sites we use for the job. I immediately notified them and was given the login of someone who is above the team leads. Then I was given the login of my team lead later... Read more »
Employees must be paid for their work, and your employer's system issues do not give them an excuse not to pay you while the system is fixed. If you are still performing work during this time, you should keep track of the hours you work and submit these for payment like you would using the...Read more »
In Arkansas generally, yes you can be made to work 7 days a week, as long as the employer pays lawful overtime for hours over 40 in that pay period. In Arkansas, there are no mandatory days off or even required meal/rest break periods. Also, there are exceptions to the overtime after 40 hours...Read more »
Under Arkansas statutes §5-73-306. Prohibited places. (7) you are prohibited from carrying the firearm anywhere a government body meets. Your "enhanced" permit allows carry in places previously prohibited, however, Ark. Code Ann. § 5-73-306(18) allows the property owners/controllers to...Read more »
I work in a factory with 12 hr shifts from 5:30 to 5:30. Employees are allowed to clock in up to 30 minutes early. My department is required to go to the floor and relieve the other shift and start working at 5:15 . In pursuant of being compensated accordingly, I refused to show up early and not... Read more »
Employees must be compensated for all time they work, but employers are permitted to mandate early arrivals, late departures, or otherwise change your schedule as long as you are paid for it. In this situation, your employer is permitted to ask you to begin work at 5:15 instead of 5:30 assuming the...Read more »
I had signed my contract in May after the district said they would take it as a resignation for anyone that did not turn in a signed contract by the end of May 2021. I have kids to support so out of fear of unemployment I signed the contract. There were teachers resigning left and right. The... Read more »
Thanks and you should speak to an Arkansas employment and education law attorney. The Arkansas Teacher Fair Dismissal Act does provide some protections to teachers, and many districts will release teachers from their contracts under circumstances similar to the ones you identified. By working...Read more »
Thanks and what Tyson and many other companies are doing is likely legal in my view. Speaking broadly, Federal law allows companies to set general policies for the safe operation of the company. These general policies can include a vaccination or masking requirement. As long as these general...Read more »
There is no law or rule that would disqualify you from being hired as a CNA on this basis. However, employers can adopt policies where applicants with criminal records are rejected. Unfortunately, there is also no law or rule that prevents employers from doing this.
My brother is a 72 y/o male, he had a collapsed lung the last part of April this year and was of work for a week, Ihe had another collapsed lung June 11th and was in ICU for about 6 days then in a regular room 7 days and now in rehab to learn to walk again, His employer called me (I was staying... Read more »
More information is needed, as this will depend on what your brother's job is and what his essential job functions are, as well as how long he is expected to remain off work while undergoing rehab. Under the Americans with Disabilities Act, disabled employees are permitted to request...Read more »
Thanks and you cannot be fired simply for being a medical marijuana patient if you are in a position that hasn’t been designated as safety sensitive. In other words, if the type of job you do hasn’t been listed in writing as no medical marijuana because it is safety sensitive, an employer...Read more »
I was supposed to be hired for $35/hour. I'm an engineer on contract . They said they could give me per diem but would have to break it down to get the power diem. So they had to do $96/day per diem and $23/HR. Problem is when I worked overtime they paid me overtime at 1.5 times $23 instead of... Read more »
Thanks and yes you should speak to an employment law attorney. If you have a contract to work for $35 an hour the state law could be breached. Or, if the per diem is structured a certain way, it could mean that the company should not have paid you the lower amount of overtime. Speaking to an...Read more »
Thanks and an attorney would need to know more about what a former employer said and/or wrote about you, and what evidence you have of that. Arkansas law may be able to help, depending on the facts. You can contact an employment law attorney to learn more
Thanks and it depends. Attorneys would need to know a few more facts.
In Arkansas, cities can create contracts for employment that provide employees with certain benefits or due process as a term of their employment. If the city breaches these terms, then the employee may have a claim...Read more »
Hi more information is needed here. As a general rule of thumb, companies should only provide the dates of hire, the title of a person's position, and pay. I would reach out to an employment law attorney in your state if you feel your previous employer provided false information about you to a...Read more »
Generally speaking, your employer is not required to consult you or give you advance notice before changing your pay structure. However, if you are paid by the hour, you must receive overtime pay for hours worked over 40 in a seven-day workweek.
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.