Mississippi Questions & Answers

Q: Can a judge in Mississippi raise someone bond without cause? They want tell us why? Nobody knows why?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Mississippi on
Answered on Aug 14, 2018
Arthur Calderon's answer
That is highly unusual. With the new rules that are in effect, a judge cannot unilaterally raise a person's bond unless he makes specific findings on the record to justify that increase. To do otherwise may render the judge's actions unconstitutional, as the bail would be considered excessive.

Q: I was convicted in 2007 on a burglary of building and in 2016 for sale of control substance. Are either violent

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Mississippi on
Answered on Aug 14, 2018
Arthur Calderon's answer
The burglary of a dwelling is considered a violent crime, and therefore renders a person ineligible for early release per the probation and parole statute.

Q: Why are Custodians of the Ms Dept. Of Corrections used to prove Habitual status of a defendant in a. bifurcated hearing

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Mississippi on
Answered on Aug 14, 2018
Arthur Calderon's answer
There's not really a bifurcated hearing for 83 purposes, as the relevant statute kicks in if the defendant has the requisite convictions in his or her background.

Q: Can a minor (13) arrested for accidental shooting be put in jail with adults instead of juvenile detention center

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Mississippi on
Answered on Aug 14, 2018
Arthur Calderon's answer
It really depends. Typically, they should be housed in a juvenile detention center until such time as they are adjudicated to be an adult; however, when they are charged with a violent crime, circuit court jurisdiction may automatically kick in, thus allowing them to be placed in general population.

Q: Can you have co-guardianship with a niece and nephew?

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law for Mississippi on
Answered on Aug 14, 2018
Arthur Calderon's answer
You must certainly can. All it takes is having the right paperwork in place naming the co-guardians.

Q: Can a l3 yr old be legally placed in an adult jail as they were arrested for an accidental shooting instead of juvi

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Juvenile Law for Mississippi on
Answered on Aug 14, 2018
Arthur Calderon's answer
It really depends. Typically, they should be housed in a juvenile detention center until such time as they are adjudicated to be an adult; however, when they are charged with a violent crime, circuit court jurisdiction may automatically kick in, thus allowing them to be placed in general population.

Q: Do someone from the Miss. Dept. if Corrections record department have to testify in a bifurcated hearing.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Mississippi on
Answered on Aug 12, 2018
Arthur Calderon's answer
No one particular person has to testify during a bifurcated hearing, unless the hearing has to do with revocation or something related to probation or parole.

Q: My husband's ex has been out of our children's lives for 3 years. She calls every 2 to 3 months and I want to adopt

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law and Adoption for Mississippi on
Answered on Aug 12, 2018
Arthur Calderon's answer
You need to get with an attorney, as you will have to go through the process of terminating her parental rights before you can go through the adoption process.

Q: If you are under an indictment. For a felony but haven't been convicted are you still able to carry a weapon?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Federal Crimes for Mississippi on
Answered on Aug 12, 2018
Arthur Calderon's answer
Yes, you are able to carry a weapon until such time as you become a convicted felon.

Q: If someone was accused of attempted aggravated assult and the grand jury has met 4 or 5 times and that person has not

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Mississippi on
Answered on Aug 12, 2018
Arthur Calderon's answer
The person needs to get with an attorney ASAP. Under the right circumstances, an attorney may be able to get the case dismissed and have your friend's record wiped clean so as to avoid anything in the future.

Q: I would like to know how many pages. Daniel Myvett have?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Mississippi on
Answered on Aug 12, 2018
Arthur Calderon's answer
It's very unclear what exactly you are asking for. Please rephrase and repost.

Q: Can I be charged with a felony possession of control substance if I have a valid prescription for the pills

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Mississippi on
Answered on Aug 12, 2018
Arthur Calderon's answer
Can you be charged? Yes... BUT, it sounds like you have a valid defense against the charges. If law enforcement hasn't dropped the charges already based on your prescription, then you should probably at least consult with an attorney to talk about a plan of action and get some advice.

Q: I got a speeding ticket 85 in a 50 I was only doing 70

1 Answer | Asked in Traffic Tickets for Mississippi on
Answered on Aug 12, 2018
Arthur Calderon's answer
Certainly possible; however, given the facts as presented, you may have some ways to poke a hole in his allegation of speeding.

Q: Can I be charged with a felony possession of control substance if I have a valid prescription for the pills

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Mississippi on
Answered on Aug 12, 2018
Arthur Calderon's answer
Can you be charged? Yes... BUT, it sounds like you have a valid defense against the charges. If law enforcement hasn't dropped the charges already based on your prescription, then you should probably at least consult with an attorney to talk about a plan of action and get some advice.

Q: Exponge misdemeanor shoplifting charge in 14 and a misdemeanor poss of paraphernalia charge in 16 Which codes in MS?

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Mississippi on
Answered on Aug 12, 2018
Arthur Calderon's answer
The misdemeanor shoplifting charge should be expungable, as with the misdemeanor possession of paraphernalia, but only under very particular circumstances. Probably the better route would be for them to be non-adjudicated, as the statues allow multiple offenses to be non-adjudicated, but you only get one bite at the apple as far as expunctions.

Q: If a person is charged with attempted aggravated assult two years ago, grand jury has met 4 or 5 times and havent been

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Mississippi on
Answered on Aug 12, 2018
Arthur Calderon's answer
The person needs to get with an attorney ASAP. There is a good possibility that the case was presented to the grand jury, and he has been no-billed. Under the right circumstances, an attorney may be able to get the case dismissed and have your friend's record wiped clean so as to avoid anything in the future.

Q: My brother spent a year or more in jail in 2014 he then went back to jail for 11 months for possession in 2015

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Mississippi on
Answered on Aug 12, 2018
Arthur Calderon's answer
It is certainly possible for them to indict him as a habitual. If that is the case, then if he is found guilty on this most recent charge, then he will serve the max for the crime (if indicted as an 81) or life without the possibility of parole (if indicted as an 83). All that to say, your brother probably should get an attorney ASAP.

Q: If I don't have my rent on the 1st my landlord gives me a 3 day notice to vacate premises. Is that legal or scare tactic

1 Answer | Asked in Landlord - Tenant for Mississippi on
Answered on Aug 12, 2018
Arthur Calderon's answer
Under the relevant statute, if a person does not pay their rent, then the landlord can begin the eviction process by giving them a three-day notice to pay rent or vacate the premises.

Q: if my children live with there dad, is it ok that he leaves them with his wife for several days and nights?

1 Answer | Asked in Family Law for Mississippi on
Answered on Aug 12, 2018
Arthur Calderon's answer
Unfortunately, it doesn't work that way. The visitation order sets the bare-minimum that a non-custodial parent may see his or her children when not under the normal custody of the other parent, unless other (and very particular) circumstances are met which would justify changing custody and/or visitation.

Q: I'm From Texas I'm on Child Support For my 3yearold Daughter But She Moved To Mississippi Recently Can I go visit Her ?

1 Answer | Asked in Child Support for Mississippi on
Answered on Aug 12, 2018
Arthur Calderon's answer
It really depends on what the custody and visitation order says. If it says that you are to have visitation during a set time, then the mother must produce the child for visitation.

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.