Lawyers, Answer Questions  & Get Points Log In
Mississippi Questions & Answers
1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Federal Crimes for Mississippi on
Q: Can A Person In Mississippi Be Charged For A Conspiracy When Its Only That Person An A Confedential Informant

My Brother Sold Pills To A CI on two Occassions which it was only a total of 6 Pills for the CI personal use. Wasnt no one's or nothing else involve except my brother an The CI. On the second sale my brother was arrested for sale of a control substance an also Conspiracy. He was charge with... Read more »

Arthur Calderon
Arthur Calderon answered on Feb 29, 2020

That is exactly correct. If the conspiracy only involves the accused and a confidential informant, and no other person, then the accused cannot be charged with conspiracy, except under very particular circumstances. Your brother's best bet is going to be to reach out to a criminal defense lawyer so... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Civil Litigation and Insurance Bad Faith for Mississippi on
Q: Asking for son. He is 100% disabled from a oil field accident and is a widower with very little money.

A tree fell into his house but insurance engineer states it did not photo's show different. It has 9 broken 2x6's. He was put in hospital after the insurance company was told his condition and continued to call, have medical records. Have their engineering report which is bad and they missed... Read more »

Arthur Calderon
Arthur Calderon answered on Feb 29, 2020

It sounds like there is definitely the beginnings of a bad faith claim. I would highly encourage you to reach out to a lawyer. You can reach out to any lawyer on here by clicking the contact information next to their name. Most of us, myself included, are happy to provide a free consultation to see... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Employment Law for Mississippi on
Q: My pay stubs show I was being paid $12.00 per hour. After I quit I was paid $7.25 on my final check. Is that legal?
Rhiannon Herbert
Rhiannon Herbert answered on Feb 26, 2020

The Fair Labor Standards Act only requires that you be paid at least the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour for all hours worked. It looks like Mississippi's state minimum wage is also $7.25 per hour. Thus, while this situation is unfair to you, there is no state or federal law that has been... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Real Estate Law and Tax Law for Mississippi on
Q: What is the ejectment process and time for an occupied property in Mississippi acquired through a tax deed

Hi I would like to know what is the process and time for an ejectment in Mississippi State when the property is obtain through a patent from the state

Randall R. Saxton
Randall R. Saxton answered on Feb 24, 2020

In Mississippi, most property owners get two years after the sale to redeem the property.

1 Answer | Asked in Car Accidents for Mississippi on
Q: How can you stop your license from being suspended?

I have financial arrangements to make monthly payments . I have copies of checks where i have paid the payments each month

Tim Akpinar
Tim Akpinar answered on Feb 22, 2020

You could start by contacting lawyers who deal with traffic violations and motor vehicle department matters and arranging a free initial consult to discuss the matter. You could search for attorneys on your own online, or through this website. There is a section here under Traffic Tickets. Click... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Estate Planning for Mississippi on
Q: Is it legal to withhold the death certificate from the beneficiary of a life insurance?

I have a family member who recently died and left a small $10k life insurance policy to a non-family member, who is not biologically related to the deceased. My family has received the death certificate, and the estate is currently in probate. My other family members are refusing to give the... Read more »

Randall R. Saxton
Randall R. Saxton answered on Feb 18, 2020

In my opinion, if she is indeed listed as the beneficiary of the life insurance policy, she has a tangible interest, and should apply for her own certified death certificate, as the insurance company will issue the benefit directly to her, and life insurance proceeds with a named beneficiary pass... Read more »

3 Answers | Asked in Bankruptcy for Mississippi on
Q: I have 15,000 in medical bills, no credit card, vehicle is fully owned, no other loans or bills. Can I file bankruptcy
Randall R. Saxton
Randall R. Saxton answered on Feb 18, 2020

Yes, if you qualify, dependent upon the Chapter of bankruptcy.

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Personal Injury for Mississippi on
Q: if your lawyer have file a lawsuit why would he not sent me a copy it been six month ago he have not contact me yet.

it is 2 cases a discrimination against my former employer and a erisa case to help me get my disability which should

not take no more than six months always going to get back to me never dose I had permanent I was fired because of my injury on the job and I had permanent restrictions on me.... Read more »

Tim Akpinar
Tim Akpinar answered on Feb 17, 2020

Some attorneys provide clients with copies of pleadings and other important paperwork as soon as it is filed; some provide it upon being asked for it. Make a written request and let them know that you have been trying to reach them for information about the disposition of your case. Good luck... Read more »

2 Answers | Asked in Car Accidents for Mississippi on
Q: If my was killed in a car crash. He was a single dad. Would my dad or myself be intiled to anything?
Arthur Calderon
Arthur Calderon answered on Feb 16, 2020

Assuming that he passed away because of someone else's negligence, then you and any other legal heir may be entitled to a portion of a settlement or award of damages. You should seriously consider reaching out to a lawyer to discuss further, as there is a time limit on being able to bring these... Read more »

View More Answers

1 Answer | Asked in Child Custody for Mississippi on
Q: In Mississippi how do you go about petitioning the court for emergency custody?
Arthur Calderon
Arthur Calderon answered on Feb 16, 2020

You would need to draft the necessary legal documents explaining to the court the circumstancing requiring an emergency hearing and requesting emergency custody.

1 Answer | Asked in Child Support for Mississippi on
Q: If a father pay for the child insurance is it true that he does not have to pay child support?
Arthur Calderon
Arthur Calderon answered on Feb 16, 2020

No. Typically insurance is included in addition to the base level child support. For clarity, you may want to review the court order (if one has already been issued).

1 Answer | Asked in Landlord - Tenant and Personal Injury for Mississippi on
Q: What is my recourse for landlord inaction to contaminates in my apartment that are causing skin rash and constant itch?

Also have mold growing in the apartment due to the leaks in the windows and doors. The contaminates are coming out of the cracks in the walls. I’m vacuuming twice a day trying to keep ahead of the waxy particulates that are coming from the walls getting worse it’s been three months it is... Read more »

Tim Akpinar
Tim Akpinar answered on Feb 16, 2020

You may need to speak with two different attorneys here. Maybe the more pressing issues are those involving habitability in your apartment. Contact a landlord-tenant attorney to discuss your remedies under Mississippi L-T law. You could also contact a personal injury attorney. However, based on the... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Business Formation, Business Law, Civil Litigation and Libel & Slander for Mississippi on
Q: Is it considered slander for someone to post personal information about an employee on your business page?
Tim Akpinar
Tim Akpinar answered on Feb 6, 2020

Slander consists of verbal defamation. If in writing, it would be libel. But there is nothing mentioned about the statement being false and damaging. So it is possible that it is not any form of defamation. It could be a privacy or confidentiality-based violation. Your post remains open for four... Read more »

1 Answer | Asked in Domestic Violence for Mississippi on
Q: How much do you think it would be for a divorce from someone that was in a domestic abuse marriage?
Arthur Calderon
Arthur Calderon answered on Feb 2, 2020

It depends on what all is going to be involved in the divorce. Typically, the cost of a divorce will be higher if there is a fight over things, such as custody, child support, possession of assets, etc.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Mississippi on
Q: I was accused of burglary of a shed but I never stepped foot on said property. Can I beat this.

I picked up a lady on the road who was at this property. She was in possession of things from property.

Arthur Calderon
Arthur Calderon answered on Feb 2, 2020

It really depends on what all evidence that they may have against you. If it is just that you picked up someone and they did not communicate what they did, then there is a decent chance that an experienced criminal defense lawyer can beat it.

1 Answer | Asked in Divorce for Mississippi on
Q: Am I responsible for half of a vehicle payment if I am not on the lien or title?
Arthur Calderon
Arthur Calderon answered on Feb 2, 2020

It really depends. Seeing that you have this down as a divorce matter, depending on how the property settlement agreement is structured, you may indeed end up responsible for half of the payment.

1 Answer | Asked in Child Custody for Mississippi on
Q: How much of advantage do I have when the mother of my 1 year old son an just newborn gets them taken away by social work

She got them taken because they found Methamphetamine in her blood when she was having my next child which was also 1 month early so he was premature..btw we do not live together nor have we ever been committed to each other.. so now I wanna take action to see what are my chances on getting my kids

Arthur Calderon
Arthur Calderon answered on Feb 2, 2020

Based on what you are saying, you have a significant advantage; however, in these types of matters, time is always of the essence. Your best bet is going to be to get with a family law lawyer sooner rather than later, so that they can walk you through the process and strategize.

1 Answer | Asked in Juvenile Law for Mississippi on
Q: Can police charge a minor with underage drinking after the fact?

If a minor were to report a crime that happened a party a few weeks prior where alcohol was served, can the police arrest and/or charge that person and any other persons involved with underage drinking?

Arthur Calderon
Arthur Calderon answered on Feb 2, 2020

Likely not, as the officer was not a witness to the underlying violation; however, if someone were to report it and was an eyewitness, then there may be sufficient information to at least bring charges. Proving it, though, is an entirely different matter.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law for Mississippi on
Q: One simple assault charge 4 years ago

I got a simple assault misdemeanor charge 4 years ago, otherwise clean background. My punishment was a $110 fine. In the event the other person reports this to my job, will one misdemeanor charge that long ago affect employment as I’ve already passed a background check?

Arthur Calderon
Arthur Calderon answered on Jan 26, 2020

It very well could affect your job. That being said, assuming you haven't gotten into any trouble since your conviction it looks like you would qualify for an expungement of the charge off of your record. You may want to consider reaching out to a lawyer to discuss further.

1 Answer | Asked in Criminal Law and Federal Crimes for Mississippi on
Q: What is the minimum charge for Mississippi (97-9-72(B))?

Officer randomly got behind me and cut on lights. After trying to figure out his intentions knowing I did nothing wrong I got scared and took off but once reality began to sink in I pulled over and stopped. He got me out of the car but never said why he was trying to stop me. No body was hurt and... Read more »

Arthur Calderon
Arthur Calderon answered on Jan 25, 2020

It really depends. Since you said grand jury, that would mean that they are treating this as a felony, which means that they are alleging that you drove in a dangerous manner. If that is the case, you are looking at a max of 5 years in MDOC custody and a $5k fine. That being said, I'd be curious to... Read more »

Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.

The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.

Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.