I don’t want to go to jail and I have a son to support and a in the middle of a divorce. I’ve gotten out of a toxic relationship and dealt with abuse growing up and the father is not taking any responsibility for child, the wrong I’ve done is that I took some redbull and used giftcards to... Read more »
Hold on there... DO NOT EVEN THINK OF ending your life over something like this. Only a Florida attorney who practices criminal defense should advise here. But your question was alarming in its nature. You're gonna get through this. Hopefully a Florida attorney knowledgeable in criminal...Read more »
Which state’s laws have the most jurisdiction in this situation? I know that in Illinois if a 17 year old voluntarily runs away the police will not force them home because It was voluntary, does that apply to this Scenario?
I am not an Arizona attorney. However, your question raises issues that you will need to consider for your personal safety and survival. It will take you a couple minutes to read, but it may save your life.
1- Be absolutely sure you need to leave home now. If your parents are causing you...Read more »
Three years ago my daughter was in abusive relationship her bf wouldn't let me take the baby and my daughter would steal from Walmart to support her daughter cause the baby father was addicted to pills and would abusive to her. Well she got caught twice put on probation and went to jail for... Read more »
Your daughter doesn't have an appeal appealable issue. She simply needs to revoke/terminate/end the guardianship in a signed writing. The Division of Family and Children Services did not initiate a petition of protection nor did they seek termination of your daughter's parental rights....Read more »
Until a person is 18, the person is a minor, and is the responsibility of the person's parents. The parents make the decisions. Having a baby does not change that. After turning 18, the parents no longer have responsibility, and if the parents decide to stop support, the person must arrange...Read more »
My 17-year-old daughter was staying with her father even though I am primary parent in our custody arrangement. Her father is now in jail and she has been staying with her sister. I have made it very clear from day 1 to both of my daughters that I am not ok with this and I want her to come home.... Read more »
You have the parental rights to do what you need to do to get her back home. This, unfortunately, is where the law and reality clash. You most likely will not even get into court before your daughter turns eighteen. Perhaps you can work with her and her sister in terms of advising that you are...Read more »
You mis-posted your question as being one dealing with GA law. Still, your question is one that any attorney anywhere could answer. A person who has reached the age of 18 is NO longer a child. That person would be an ADULT. An adult can move, live, etc. wherever they choose to live. No...Read more »
She is a minor. If an uninsured minor has an accident, the parent could be financially responsible or found negligent if she injures someone. A car won't start without a battery, and won't go anywhere if none of the tires has air. Talk to a school counselor who might have suggestions...Read more »
The offenses you’ve cited are 2nd and 3rd degree, respectively, and in juvenile court a 2nd degree carries as much as 3 years of incarceration and a 3rd degree carries as much as 2 years of incarceration. Because of his age, he will not be waived to adult court despite how serious the charges...Read more »
I'm at my wits end. He won't listen to me or his dad. He has been truant from school most of the past school year. He has run away and continues to threaten to run away even after the cops found and brought him home. What do I do?
It is not entirely clear what your question is. There are certain laws in Florida that govern the parent child relationship when a child is born out of wedlock. You may want to schedule a time to speak with a qualified family law attorney to discuss what your options are under these particular...Read more »
My 12yrs daughter ran away from home in Ohio. She stole 120K dollars from my PayPal, she is in a different state. We have no idea where she is. If she comes back, which charges can I push against her? And how long is the statute of limitation before we can no longer push charges?
In Missouri, those children of the age of 17 are not considered runaways. Although what you've described may not be safe for the child, there is not much that can be done when a 17-year-old moves out of the home.
Justia Ask a Lawyer is a forum for consumers to get answers to basic legal questions. Any information sent through Justia Ask a Lawyer is not secure and is done so on a non-confidential basis only.
The use of this website to ask questions or receive answers does not create an attorney–client relationship between you and Justia, or between you and any attorney who receives your information or responds to your questions, nor is it intended to create such a relationship. Additionally, no responses on this forum constitute legal advice, which must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. You should not act upon information provided in Justia Ask a Lawyer without seeking professional counsel from an attorney admitted or authorized to practice in your jurisdiction. Justia assumes no responsibility to any person who relies on information contained on or received through this site and disclaims all liability in respect to such information.
Justia cannot guarantee that the information on this website (including any legal information provided by an attorney through this service) is accurate, complete, or up-to-date. While we intend to make every attempt to keep the information on this site current, the owners of and contributors to this site make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to from this site.